ULOG 06: A Visit at My Aunt's Classroom-Teaching is a Difficult Job

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

Hello Uloggers, Steemians and everyone reading this post. Earlier today I had made a very productive trip to aunt classroom. Throughout my short observation I had learned so many things.

My Aunt is teaching Grade 2 pupils for 7 years now. Although her job requires a lot of patience and determination as she teaches very young kids, she finds it very fulfilling and satisfying job to be with the kids.

Arriving at 8 am


Reading comprehension Activity


When I arrived at her classroom , I did not bother her because as early at 8 am right after the flag raising ceremony she had already started a busy day with her students. I find a chair and sat by. She was doing a reading comprehension activities for her pupils. According to my aunt, this reading comprehension is very important as this equalizes to a child critical thinking ability.

It takes a lot of effort as this activity required a one on one session between the kids and the teacher. This activity as well is set to determine the skills separates the "passive" unskilled reader from the "active" readers. Through this activity which my aunts does regularly , the reading skills of the pupils will surely be improving and also they will be able to comprehend what they are reading.

My aunt told me that it is more than reading comprehension, it is also being able to connect with the child you are teaching in order to be more effective as an educator. After reading , there were also a series of questions to be asked to a child to test if he or she was able to get and comprehend what he or she reads. It was indeed tough and time-consuming task early in the morning.

Instructional Materials

It was then time for me to roamed around to the four corners of the classroom, I was really stunned how beautiful my Aunt's classroom was. It was just so captivating, the room was well organized and the chairs and tables were in great place. But one of the things that I appreciate the most was her intructional materials. There were a lot. There were some songs, nursery rhymes, reading materials that the kidscan really use and enjoy.

These are some more. These instructional materials were made by my aunt alone. These learning materials are designs to put in the walls and the other corners of the room as well. These instructional materials may varied and comes in different shapes and colors but they are all made to support child's ability in learning. It is essential for a teacher to have things as it can significantly increase student achievement.

Classroom Rules

Teaching young kids can be very challenging and demanding that is why setting up a classroom policy or rules are fundamental to order in the classroom, and order in the classroom is essential if effective teaching and learning are to take place. There are some things you need to considered to have an effective and peaceful environment for learning and that is through establishing a classroom rules.

To make these rule effective especially to the young kids, the teacher needs to explain this carefully. Better that Rules are agreed definitely between teacher and learners, and best that they are established to consider are the age, maturity, size and purpose of the group is important in this regard.

Group Activity


image.png
After exploring the classroom, I got the chance then to witnessed another activity which was the group activity in their Math subject. I carefully observed then how excited these children to do their activity with their fellow kids. I could really feel the excitement on their faces as they start talking to their groupmates.

This group activity according to my aunt is very helpful for the child development in learning. Through her seminars , she had learned so many things how group activity should be and how will it be more effective for the children. In general, group work essentially creates an environment where students "teach" and explain concepts to each other with better team work and understanding.

Group activity will develop communication and teamwork skills. Also children will be able to hold one another responsible and accountable. Group activity is also good for the part of the teacher as this benefit him or her by seeing pupils approach problems in novel and unique ways. This can improve the instructor's perspective and make their future teaching more effective and efficient.

Reflection


Throughout my short visit , I have learned a lot of new things. New perspective on teachings like I did not expect the level of difficulty they are going through everyday. I know that being a teacher is a tough profession but I did not fully realized that it was an extemely complicated job. From waking up early and going to school then teaching many children everyday yet they were given a low salary. Teaching is indeed a noble profession. My full respect and love for them.

Thank you for reading!

Sort:  

I like your blog. It’s really true that teaching is difficult. It’s very hard task.

Wow thank you so much Maam for your appreciation

Hello, @ zam398 excellent its publication, with its history that made me travel a few years ago when I applied this strategy with my students.

Thank you so much Maam , God bless you

I have always love kids,I love to teach and play with them.i feel like having some soonest.
And to you the poster,hope you teach and play with them also,lol,I have learn to always have fun with children from my grandmother,she loves children so much that there's no day you won't see children with her.am sure you will get to learn more things there

Yes I agree with you


If you would like to support the educational community by delegating to @steemiteducation, please click on any of the following links. This will ensure that more teachers are supported on a daily basis.
100SP 200SP 300SP 400SP 500SP 750SP 1000SP 2000SP 3000SP 4000SP 5000SP 10,000SP 25,000SP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63519.79
ETH 3073.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82