Ulog No. 11 "mininthecity goes to North Dakota"steemCreated with Sketch.

in #ulog6 years ago

HERO

Yes, when I visualize my heros, they are riding a bicycles, not white stallions...

atomic2.0.jpg

Living in Minneapolis, I can walk or bike to seemingly countless coffee shops and restaurants serving organic, fair trade, and locally sourced options. I have my favorites in various neighborhoods and feel comfortable knowing scrumptious and nutritious options are always nearby. When I visit my family members in North Dakota, I quickly feel outside my comfort zone. The nearest large city is about 30 miles away from my parent’s house and even farther from my sister’s. There are many enjoyable aspects of being outside the city, yet I start to crave my favorite flavors. Today I was fortunate to find my-kinda-coffee shop in the city of Fargo during a precious hour of “me-time.” An internet search led me to Atomic Coffee. The description said, "local fair trade coffee and organic bites." I was sold!

atomic4.jpg

When I noticed the sign requiring cyclists to dismount and walk bikes on the sidewalks I thought it was encouraging. Enough people are riding that the city felt an ordinance was necessary.

atomic6.jpg

Give us bike racks and we will walk to them...

atomic5.jpg

When I stepped inside, I knew it was the place for me to finally sit down and blog a bit. I started out at this bicycle table...

atomic3.jpg

and later moved to a more comfortable seat.

atomic1.jpg

Although there aren’t nearly as many cyclists as I see around home, I’ve been noticing bicycles roll by consistently as I type. Ah, the comfort of seeing bicycles in a vehicle-centric city. Add a quality cup of coffee and I’m feeling much better than I was driving forty-five minutes to my niece’s birthday party. She is worth it, and vehicles have their place in my transportation melange. My two-wheeler is by far my favorite and definitely induces more smiles... Speaking of bicycles and smiles, my niece's biggest birthday surprise was her first bike with pedals. She started out on a Strider and insisted she was ready to pedal like her "best buddy" (her older cousin). My smile while I helped her practice riding was a reflection of how happy I felt to have another cyclist in the family. I hope I'll be an inspiring role model as she pedals her way through life.

atomic7.0.jpg

That’s all the time I have for this blogging session. Thanks for reading!

Until my next ulog... ride on, steem on, and blog about it :)

cyclefeed.jpg

What is cyclefeed?

I'm excited to share with cycling enthusiasts!
This post tells you what's up: How to Participate: Use #cyclefeed in your Posts!

Gratitude to @robmolecule and @mrprofessor for creating #cyclefeed.

steemit.helmet.jpg
Thanks to @surpassinggoogle for initiating #ulog
All photos are my own.

This post was made from https://ulogs.org

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your high quality cycling content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in the form of an upvote and resteem. Keep the pedals spinning, fellow cyclist. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the weekly round-up of our Cyclefeed blog. Thank you for using #cyclefeed



Learn more about our cycling project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

That's so cool @mininthecity, I love seeing other people's cities and try to imagine how it is to cycle through those streets.

Guess soon your niece will be going faster than both of us hahaha

Me too, I love to imagine cycling in cities around the world.

Hahaha! We'll see... My niece has a lot of energy!

AHAH check a channel on youtube called onecyclistinlisbon, I love his videos; they are simple yet cool.

Will do. I have to earn money for a GoPro. In the meantime I could try DTube with phone videos...

Well, I don't see why that wouldn't worl, some phones have incredible quality. Just plug a microphone and good to go.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76