ULOG: 9 My DoorDash Experience So Far

in #ulog6 years ago

Gig Economy

doordash-square-red.jpgsrc

I choose to work in the gig economy for a variety of reasons.

  • Pay
    Driving for Uber is great. The money is pretty good, I usually average 20/hr+ and the tips are ok too. The downsides are the extra fuel you have to pay and a little extra wear and tear on your car. I haven't had any bad messes or broken parts due to passengers, but, it is good to factor that in just in case.
    DoorDash is much better on wear and tear and gasoline because there isn't all the extra weight. I have been averaging 25/hr Dashing and paying less for fuel. The added benefit is that I can do what I want while I am driving, which makes for a lot less stress.
    With either job, you can work as much or as little as you want/need to. There are limits, but, they are pretty liberal. You can do 70 hours a week if you want to.

  • Freedom
    As you all know, or should by now, I am very independent, sometimes to my own detriment. With gig jobs, you call most of the shots. There is no clock to punch and no boss hanging over you, expecting more work for less pay.
    If my child has a doctor's appointment or a school play or a field trip, I can be there. If I am not feeling 100%, I don't have to feel bad for not going in, there are plenty of people willing to take the trips you don't.
    The same as above, you can work when you want to.

  • Family
    With Uber, I have to be away from my family for hours on end. This made me work overnights so I wouldn't miss much. With DoorDash, I can bring the kids along if I need to. I work DoorDash while they are in school mostly, and, if I need to put a few more hours in, the girls can do their homework in the car and play on my phone or just sing along to music. The point is, we get to be together more and that is a good feeling.

Summary

I think my van is too big for Uber. The extra cost of fuel alone compared with DoorDash is enough to not do so much Ubering. The other thing I like is the limited contact with people that DoorDash affords me. People are more and more sensitive these days and I tend to talk plainly, this leads to me getting bad ratings at times because someone got their tender feelings hurt. With DoorDash, there is no conversations. I will not stop speaking plainly, it is who I am. I don't like government and I hate war and I will never stop raging against the machine until it finally breaks down. Or I do. If that gets peoples panties in a bundle, that sounds more like their problem than mine.
Either Uber or DoorDash is a good choice in my opinion. They both pay more than Amazon's new minimum wage and they are both far and away better than Burgerdonalds or 7/11. Uber is trying to get a law changed so they can give shares of the company as incentives for full timers. That could be lucrative to say the least.


This was in no way a promotion for either Uber or DoorDash. I am just trying to share my experiences with you. If you would like to sign up for either, let me know and we can help each other.

Thanks for reading! Take care!

This post was made from https://ulogs.org

Sort:  

@matthewtiii, go and place your daily vote for Steem on netcoins! http://contest.gonetcoins.com/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29