100% of these Post Rewards Go to Charity #2 ~~ #ulog 10 "GrowFoodNotLawns & Real Life Minecraft!"

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

The recipient of this post's SBD, liquid STEEM and SP is @schoolforsdg4! Keep up the great work!

Update: I Am Donating the SBD & Liquid STEEM From My Posts, and I Decided Today, the SP too!

To learn why, read: I Will Be Donating My SBD and Liquid STEEM From Post Payouts Indefinitely

What the Bowes has Been Up to Lately...

Screen Shot 2018-06-22 at 8.18.18 PM.png

I'm living up to my commitment to not overwhelm myself in the garden, and just weed a small bit every day. I am getting places now, you can see that my lettuce which seeded itself is being revealed as I go around pulling weeds. I have a lot of the front lawn garden weeded now, and I've planted squash and beans.

IMG_7865.JPG

I can't help but think of the Lao Tzu quote: "Nature doesn't hurry, yet everything is accomplished". It's summing up this growing season perfectly for me.

Screen Shot 2018-06-23 at 6.07.39 PM.png

The Lupins are Almost in Their Full Glory :)

Screen Shot 2018-06-23 at 6.22.41 PM.png

The ares around the lupins looks crazy, it's all sugar peas, poppies, cosmos and lettuce. I'm going through soon to do some thinning, it's gonna look really great there in a couple months, I'm so excited!

Screen Shot 2018-06-23 at 6.23.05 PM.png

Stryder and Kiedis Have Been Doing Some Digging of Their Own...

Watch this video and tell me, does this bring you back to childhood? Their excitement and enthusiasm truly brought me back and melted my heart.


(Video 2:47)

So, we had this hole...and the next day...

Screen Shot 2018-06-23 at 6.27.26 PM.png

Look Closer it's Mud Bath Time!

Screen Shot 2018-06-23 at 6.27.44 PM.png

Screen Shot 2018-06-23 at 6.27.56 PM.png

They even made a sign that says: Do Not Step Here. I'm loving this summer weather, hopefully this is just a small piece of the joy to come this season. Have a great weekend everyone!

Screen Shot 2018-06-23 at 6.28.08 PM.png

Edit: As of today, June 26/2018 @schoolforsdg4 would receive 2.46 SBD, 4.27 STEEM, 6.13 SP from this post payout. I will keep updating if the funds keep increasing.

Sort:  

With my garden I have to take a zen approach. And in fact, part of that approach is in making my gardens. We have a good size piece of land here and it has been let go for generations before we could even touch it, so to see the whole picture would be discouraging. Thus, like Life, I think I'll take a small corner of it and try to fix it as best I can but still realize there will be weeds, even in life. That'd be a good tester or embroidery on a pillow "In Life and Gardens: There WILL be WEEDS" (I think I have a drawing coming up ;) )

There is so much around here that is just wild weeds, bittersweet and lashings and lashings of poison ivy. What can you do? Just laugh, garden a bit here and there and enjoy the view overall.

Even my brand new self made terrace which I laid down weedbarrier fabric and a good few inches of gravel still has some grass now peeking through. So, every so often, when I'm out there relaxing or sitting on the porch steps petting puss, closest to the gravel, I'll just pull some. But rather than look out and think, 'Oh no, it's not perfect' I just think, 'well if that grass can grow through all that, maybe I'll just enjoy it this summer after all ;) zen...

I love the real life minecraft! You could host a high end mud spa and charge by the hour for that fresh NS mud that is said to take years off a body and enliven the spirit, 200 dollars an hour please.

I am impressed with your rogue lettuce and at least something that came back is something you can eat. I planted up my little bed of lettuce, kale, chard, and cabbage all higgeldy piggeldy in hopes that end of season, I'll let it bolt to seed and see if it comes back next year. It's worth a shot, Gardening, also like life, is just a big experiment anyway, right?

My best to you all up there, keep gardening and playing in the mud and smile at the joys of your life! :)

Aww, I love your embroidery idea! You could sell those lady!

I'm also loving your zen approach...ahhh...one day I will be as wise and zen as you <3 <3 <3 I'm definitely getting there, one square at a time!

Yes, let that lettuce bolt and you will see magic next spring. For kale, if you can keep the roots semi-alive and protected over winter, next year will be its seed year. I have whole zip lock bags full of kale seeds from our seeding plants last year, I don't think I'll have to buy kale seeds for the rest of my life just from what those couple plants produced last year!

Such a good charity.. 100% UV +RS

Wicked Dave, thanks!

Hey @lyndsaybowes you have such a bit heart and the platform is richer for having you on it .. and that's before you started giving away your SBD! That video really warmed my heart! .. but wow look at that mud!! lol What is it with children and mus eh? I was forever bathing in it and making mud pies .. ah those were the days :D

Those were the days...I think I need to jump in that hole and live a little!

Thank you so much for the kind words, you touch my heart and give me a lot of energy @perceptualflaws!

Wonderful post mam.amazing photography...your sons are really hard working much say... you are really lucky mam to have kids like them.☺

Mam if you are free visit my blog once.👍

AH HA HA that mud bath is hilarious. It's a good thing the chickens aren't loose!

Omg good call! We're gonna have to fill in that baby when the girls get let out in September!!

Mud bath? Is it that hot already?

Yea, we have been having some beautiful summer heat this last few weeks! Plus, our water source is a creek, and it's soooooooo warm right now!!

Your garden is coming along nicely. No use killing yourself overworking in the garden. Enjoy the boys! I love the mud bath hole! Reminds me of we I was going up. We used to make swimming holes all the time. I don't think my Dad had an appreciation of them...he'd fill them in as fast as we could dig them! LOL

HHAHA They threw the dirt around so far I'm gonna have to dig a new hole somewhere just to have the dirt to fill it.

It's like extreme grounding hey? Earthing? You have heard of that I'm sure.

LOL! Earthing! Love it!

A beautiful garden is made in your place of residence, it will look very nice and the surroundings will be good and the environment will be good. Even though the gardening is a bit difficult but fun.thank you dear

Thank you for visiting @mdabdullah4002.

most welcome and your all post i liked it madam

Beautiful!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00