ULOG #25: Walk in the city after the storm

in #ulog6 years ago

• ulog 25 •.jpg

After weeks of continuous rain brought about by the storm and monsoon, we had a break from the gloom. The sun peeked for a bit and brightened the sky. The mood was surely lifted. It is still cloudy and we had drizzles now and then. It is only now while I am writing this that there are scattered strong rains.

I planned on checking out graffiti and wall painting that I know existed somewhere in the city and take photos of them. Because there were still scattered drizzles and the threat of strong rain, I decided to contact one of my friends since she promised to pay her final payment. I was thinking that if she did not pay, I will ask her to send it to my bank account online which is what we do sometimes. However, she was willing to meet up and so we did and find new place to eat.

We ended up here in Bakuran Cafe and Restaurant. Bakuran means "front yard or lawn."

35429669_10213906146100263_3701938015862521856_n.jpg

This is one of the old houses that was converted into cafe. Houses like these were owned by families who were living somewhere else mostly probably abroad and rather than abandon the place, they would rather sell it or lease it to business owners which in turn transformed it to cafes or spas.

najlepsza w okolicy.jpg

The atmosphere in this two-story cafe is warm and homey. I immediately liked it. It is situated in a quite environment and the street is not so busy. There are schools in the area but it is a weekend so there is no class. It makes the stay pleasant and relaxing.

They decorated the place such that there is so much things to see.

35359420_10213906142740179_5623690706909396992_n.jpg

35376886_10213906147380295_1018638136621662208_n.jpg

35358005_10213906145780255_2311196664473321472_n.jpg

Preppy Kids.jpg

Toys are displayed in one wall which brings nostalgia of childhood.

It was a delight to see these toys that we used to play when we were kids. The brown ball is for sepak takraw or kick volleyball. The sport uses a ball made of rattan or plastic. The players are only allowed to use their feet, knee, chest and head when playing this game.

You can also see a slingshot, a racket, mastermind, etc.

Next to these toys is a glass cabinet of miniature toys and other stuff. I was not able to take a photo of it because it is dark and the glass door reflects everything. I want to open the cabinet but it was locked.

Are you familiar with sepak takraw? Have you used a slingshot? What other childhood games and toys are you reminded of?

HARVESTING SINCE 1892.jpg

DIYSushi Party.jpg

A small crossbow was hanged above a doorway. There is also a photo corner with a swing and little wooden horse. There is a wall of clocks that do not run. There is a barrel that they used as a table. Everything about the accent and accessories are well thought of and it is neat to look at. Any place and corner of the cafe is a perfect spot. The even have a thrift shop but only for ladies.

The food served here are majority Filipino food. We ordered tapsilog (beef, fried rice and fried egg), fresh lumpia (vegetable roll) and turon (sweetened fried banana roll) with ice cream. The only beef meal is the tapsilog. The only chicken meal is grilled chicken.

35359385_10213906149260342_2015648578877259776_n.jpg

I was craving for beef so I ordered the tapsilog. For the price, it is not worth it. There is a restaurant in the city center that I used to eat beef tapa that I like. They have bigger serving and it is half the price of that of Bakuran.

The serving of Bakuran is like kiddie meal.

My friend was satisfied with her fresh lumpia, however.

We both liked the turon with three scoops of ice cream - avocado, mango and ube flavors. I was not able to finish my ice cream because I felt shooting pains in my gums which made me stop eating. I was able to finish the turon though because it was good.

The serving is small but the price is too much. We did ask the staff regarding the quantity of food and they said it is enough for two. Yes, it is, but for two kids.

Overall rating: 2/5. The ambience took most of the rating.

This is the view from where we sat. This is a controversial hospital. It is now closed. My brother used to work here as a PT. This is one of the hospitals here in our city.

However, due to family dispute, they decided to cease operation and abandoned the place. What a waste! Because of greed we destroy what is good.

From where I met my friend to where Bakuran is, we have to pass by the public market which is a quicker route. At the end of this alley is a coffee store and from where I took the photo you can already smell the delicious aroma of coffee .

I didn't take much photo during our walk here because I have to avoid a lot of puddles.

However, you can check @watersnake101's post about this market. Check his blogs about Baguio City Public Market here and here.

There is a bakeshop that I love their cinnamon located at the other end of the alley. I wanted to buy but unfortunately, it is not available that time.

One side of the alley are dry goods like clothes and household wares. The other side are fruits and vegetables and food. On a good day, the center is also filled with vendors.

35376885_10213906143380195_3882067501147750400_n.jpg

We ended our walk to the building where this carving is. It depicts the natives of this place. In this building, a supermarket is located. My friend decided to buy some stuff before heading home. I waited for her outside.

My brother came home early morning and we had to go meet him to help him with his stuff. He brought me home a new pair of shoes which I am very grateful of. This is also one of the reasons I wanted to go out so I can break-in my shoes.

20180616_064059.jpg

This is my ulog. What's yours?

LEEART.gif

This gif is brought to by @phantum04.


I am using this divider provided by @surpassinggoogle here in this post about @ulog.

What is @ulog? Read it HERE.


THIS IS A REMINDER TO BE CAREFUL WITH YOUR ACCOUNTS AND KEYS HERE IN STEEMIT. There are criminals, hackers and abusers all around.

Check out these articles:

This One Here Is For You @Sami100: "You Can Steal My Money But You Can't Take Away My Happiness!" || Be Careful Steemians And Protect Your Private Keys!!! by @surfermarly

PLEASE DON'T be the NEXT VICTIM of a PHISHING SCAM !! by @lynncoyle1
⚠⚠ WARNING FRIENDS ⚠⚠ by @johndoer123
Protect your ASS by @omitaylor
Scammers started disinformation from @arcange



This post was made from https://ulogs.org

Sort:  

Glad the sun showed up. Here too but in the afternoon, the rain started pounding again :( Hope all is well with you guys. Be careful with landslides. I love the vibe of that resto. Next time agpasyarak, intaytu man met hehe. I love your shoes too. I used to have the same shoes when I was in college. White, green and red chuck taylors :D Good morning, Arief!

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Mayat lang ag pix ditoy ngem nu fud ket hanen haha! Ada siguro mayat pay nga food ngem jay intry ko ket nagbassit.

Thank you for taking us for this great walk in the city, I really enjoyed it.
It looks like the hospital was a very beautiful hospital and it's so sad to see beautiful buildings like that to turn to ruins.

I'm glad you enjoyed it!
It is sad. I hope the owners will come to their senses. Better use it and share the profits rather than leaving it like that.

I really love your photography bro. It was a lovely walk with you , and oh you remind me of those childhood games, i soo missed it. Lovely to refresh those childhood memories from those games. I am your real fan! Blessings to you.

Thanks a lot @sherylneil!
Some of those games I haven't played in a very long time lol!

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

congrats sa red shoes my friend😊

Thanks! Masakit nga lang sa paa haha!

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Nothing fascinates me more than that plastic ball. Leg volley sounds like a really interesting sports. I'm definitely in. Long time no see man.

It is an interesting sport. You can check some videos on YT and see how it is done as I don't play it lol!

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

It has been raining a lot here too, but it is our rainy season so we expect it. Too bad the cafe was a bit of a disappointment. Like your new shoes!

It is the rainy season as well for us. Thank goodness we have had sunny days the past couple of days.

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

With all of that rain, you would think the last thing you would want to play with is a rainmaker? lol

Lol! The sound that this bamboo rainmaker makes though is music to my ears unlike the sound of rains that we have been having. Also, my friend was curious as to what it is and did not know about it. I have to demonstrate it to her and let her listen much to her delight.

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

They are pretty cool to play with. I just had to point out the irony lol.

Haha! I think that was the lucky charm because from that day on we have had sunny days.

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Good! I'm glad you finally got some sunshine. It has been a rainy summer for us so far this year.

Wow what an eye candy of a post. Awesome work on this my friend. These are some of the places that only a local would know. Instead of going with the flow of the crowd. Thanks for the plug and I love those shoes. Cheers!

Thanks! More and more third wave cafes are sprouting here and there it is hard to keep up.

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Your editing here looks fabulous. A really well put together post. It's also a really great tour of your city. The food looks great.... a pity the quantity for the price wasn't great. I enjoyed this. X

Glad you enjoyed it! This is my first time in this cafe. I have read good reviews online about it but it's always good to experience it first hand.

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Nice travelling with you @leeart, someof the photos remind me of my childhood days!! Thanks for sharing...❤

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85