Lysergic Acid Diethylamide: My First Ulog!

in #ulog6 years ago

 Part 1

hu·man /ˈ(h)yo͞omən/: One who sleeps, eats, works, plays, and dies. 12:00 PM.

Image Source

Ahh, a day off. Music and Steemit once again. Should I do this again? Last time went well. Fuck it.

I have to feel refreshed and ready for today. A long, hot shower first. The scorching water rushing over me makes me feel dizzy and spacey, in a way. Probably just hungry and tired. Time for coffee, lunch, and some weed. That'll set me straight.

Marijuana and cigarettes in the yard, in the mid-afternoon sun. @skuuun's dog from back home, Jessie, romping about in the strawberry patch. I am reminded once again that I live in paradise. Why would I need to do anything else besides sit here today?

No, I should do something productive. Back inside, down to the studio, coffee at the ready. 

Part 2

hu·man /ˈ(h)yo͞omən/: One who is meant to create. 1:30 PM.

Image Source

Plug in the rack, and the MIDI pads. Start up the machine. Warm up the tubes. There's anticipation in my chest and swirling sensations in my head.

I remember a chord progression that I wanted to restructure -- let's start with that. Metronome on, lines run, speakers off, headphones on. The click track I'm so used to playing to suddenly seems so mechanical and limiting. I'm taking off these headphones and warming up for awhile instead.

After toying with the order of these jazz chords for awhile, I find a section I like. Headphones back on, it's time to record this thing. God, why do I hate playing to this metronome so much right now? Doesn't matter, push through it. My guitar feels farther away from me than usual, and my fingers are lazy and forgetful.

Guitar, bass, drum tracks down now, all slightly sloppy and boring. Ah well, at least I tried. It might be time for a break from this mix. The dimensions of the computer monitor are warping slightly, and I can't quite tell what color my Ableton interface is anymore but it's certainly not grey. A feeling that I'll call excitement for lack of a better word grips my chest and head, and I wonder what to do with it. It certainly doesn't feel like it's drawing me to this work right now. I save and close my project, and shut down the system.

Part 3

hu·man /ˈ(h)yo͞omən/: One who lives in society. 3:00 PM.

Image Source

Mac and I walk down the street to grab some sandwiches from the cute little place on the corner. Sun still shining bright, dogs barking, birds chirping. We talk about the things we appreciate now that we're a bit older. Life is good.

I awkwardly buy my sandwich from the woman at the shop, and Mac buys his. We take our seats outside. Mac has to make a call to a music client, and I think to myself about how insane humanity is. Cars, phones, money. No time, ever. Spend the least amount of time for the most amount of gains. Efficiency, efficiency, efficiency. Welcome to America.

These sandwiches are fucking delicious. We scarf them down, and the woman working gives us each a free coconut pastry, apparently they were day-olds. They are also fucking delicious. That was pretty nice of her! You know, maybe humanity isn't all that bad.

Part 4

hu·man /ˈ(h)yo͞omən/: One who is meant to sit and ponder. 4:00 PM.

Image Source

Back at the house, I lay in the backyard on a blanket staring at the trees overhead. Paradise once again. Waves in the leaves, kaleidoscopes in the grass. How did we land this house, I wonder. It's too perfect.

What do dogs daydream about? Do they get tired of being loyal? How has nature not staged a revolution against mankind? It feels imminent. As @sandpiper says, there are too many goddamn people. An estimated 7.6 billion. We need to stop fucking. We're gonna destroy ourselves.

Productivity seems like a silly thing to strive for right now, I'm enjoying myself far too much doing nothing outdoors. I watch as the trees breathe with the wind, airplanes streak through the sky, and squirrels fight in the leaves.

Part 5

hu·man /ˈ(h)yo͞omən/: One who is meant to laugh and enjoy themselves. 6:30 PM.

Image Source

Mac is coming up as I am coming down. We laugh and laugh about obscurities. How does everyone know the Microsoft hill? You know, the Microsoft XP grassy hill wallpaper? Everyone gets the exact same mental image when someone references that wallpaper. How fucking silly is that?

Dilang comes by the house and hangs out for awhile to edit some videos with @skuuun. It's always a joy to have Dilang's positivity come through every once in a while. He sees Mac and I being ridiculous in the living room, and remarks: "Man, wish I had some of whatever you're on", as he walks away. We reply that we would share if we could, but we ate it all (he doesn't know we're only half joking).

After the boys do their video project and Dilang leaves, the night ends with @skuuun, @sandpiper and I outside smoking, talking, and laughing. What a beautiful life I live here, I think to myself. The best of friends, in the best of places.

It was a good day.

Sort:  

I know that your favorite post of mine was my Weirdest Invention of All Time post. I also know that you have a love for music. I think you might actually like this one better than the other post. It seems to combine both of the two. you may have heard of this musical device, probably not though. I hope you like it.

https://steemit.com/torture/@big.ock/brilliant-invention-or-torture-device

Ah, the sweet sound of... cats? I'd like to make a version with frogs.

That would be great. There was actually a version made with pigs years before this. It was made by an inventor who had a chorus of donkeys. I'm betting this would be great on stage. Peta might get a little upset nowadays though.

Dude where do you find this shit? Link some of your reading :D

I just Google things like strange facts, wierd inventions, etc. There are lists of them. One was top 100 strange facts. After I find a fact that interests me, I just research it.

I found out about the donkeys and pigs while I was researching the cat thing.

Sounds like a great trip.

It was certainly pleasant! I took only a half dose, but it did me good.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59234.78
ETH 2525.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47