Ulog #1 :: Japanese Chiropractor and a Visit from a Ghost

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

Hello all you wonderful and amazing readers. Welcome to my first ulog. @linnyplant suggested I do one a few weeks ago and the idea has been brewing since then. This morning I am in the writing mood, so here we are.

What’s an ulog? ulog is a idea by @surpassinggoogle (I think) to create more personalized diary entries instead of trying to create newspaper entries. I am old enough to remember that when blogs first started they were informal diaries, but I guess they have since drifted from that meaning so a re-branding is in order–enter the ulog.

With that out of the way, let’s get started. Here we go!


Went to the chiropractor yesterday. First time I’ve ever been to one. It’s not that I’m a skeptic and doubt what they do, it’s just that 1) I’ve never had any reason to go (no back or neck pain), and 2) I’ve never had insurance that would cover them. Well I suppose they might be covered by the national insurance here in Japan. I’ve never checked. When I lived in the States, tho, the second of the above 2 was always true. I keep reading about how these days more and more company insurance plans in the States cover chiropractor visits. That is great. But it wasn’t true when I lived there.

I went to this visit because it was a free demonstration at the local library. A free demo by chiropractors who are undoubtedly hoping to convince everyone to then start making regular visits to their clinic, no doubt. Such things are common enough here in Japan. Still—free is free. And my wife wanted to go.

Interesting stereotype I heard for the first time. Before the free adjustments began, the head chiropractor gave a short lecture talking about the benefits of what they do vs what a traditional doctor might do. Standard stuff. When she saw me in the crowd, she got excited.

“Where are you from?” She asked.

“America.”

“I knew it!” (In the eyes of many Japanese, anyone white is from America)

She went on to explain to the crowd that chiropractors are very common in America and that all Americans visit them quite often. Hmmm interesting idea, I thought. She asked me to confirm that. I decided it probably wouldn’t be best to embarrass her in front of everyone, so I just evasively said “Everyone knows of chiropractors, that’s true”

Later when we broke into groups, she wanted to be the one to give me my adjustment. Before doing it, she asked me how many times I had been to see a chiropractor and I admitted that I never had, that most people can’t afford it, and that insurance usually doesn’t cover it. She expressed shock and then quickly changed the subject.

The adjustment went fine. She said my left side is longer than my right, meaning my spin is bent, probably from crossing my legs. I never used to cross my legs, but it seems like most men in Japan do, so I picked up the habit several years ago. Something I need to unlearn, I suppose.

Dont mind me, Im just throwing my spine out of alignment while I plot the destruction of my enemies
Don’t mind me, I’m just throwing my spine out of alignment while I plot the destruction of my enemies

She twisted me in strange ways and made both my back and neck crack in the ways I expected. I can’t really say I felt much. It did feel good, kind of like a massage might, but that is all. When she cracked my back I did have the strangest urge to laugh. I’m not sure what that’s about.

My wife on the other hand said it was an amazing experience and that she felt like a new person. Hmm. I guess this means I am going to be paying for chiropractor visits for at least one person in the future.


One other thing y’all may enjoy.

I should begin by noting that this is Obon week in Japan, which is when the spirits of ancestors supposedly come back to their family home to hang out with their family for a week. There are a couple of interesting events this week, including an obon dance, which is fun to watch.

But anyway, later last night we both were putting our kids to bed. My wife fell asleep while putting our youngest to bed while I was reading to our oldest. After snoring for a several minutes, she suddenly jerked awake and announced “I just met Ichiro.”

Ichiro was a friend of mine for a number of years here. A very nice oldest man. I would visit his house every now and then, have a snack with him as we talked about whatever.

Earlier this year he died suddenly, and (as far as I know) unexpectedly. He was only 60. At the time I was sad about losing my friend and in a bit of a funk for awhile. I met his wife a number of times and tried to comfort her, and I visited their house for the wake.

But I haven’t mentioned him nor talked about him with my wife since January, so it was a little strange to hear her bring him up.

“I met an old man and he said ‘I’m Ichiro’, then I was surprised so I woke up.” My wife continued. “I bet that means he is here for Obon, visiting us, so he is probably in this room we just can’t see him.”

being a ghost isnt good for ones hair
being a ghost isn’t good for one’s hair

I’m not really a superstitious person, but I am open-minded and allow for the possibility of ghosts. That said, meeting one isn’t high on my list of things I want to do, even if it were a nice one. But I didn’t dwell on the idea too long and fell asleep myself after putting my oldest to bed.

Anyway, I didn’t see him last night or dream of him. There are still a few days left in Obon week, tho, so we shall see what happens ;)

That reminds me: the Japanese are crazy about ghost stories, and there are a lot of really bizarre ones. I should write some of them up sometime for Steemit.


So ends my first ulog. Like a blog, but with a cool new name. How’d I do? Thoughts? Responses? Is there a common header graphic or any tags I missed that I should have used? Let me know in the comments.

If you guys enjoyed this, maybe I’ll do more.

Hi there David LaSpina is an American photographer lost in Japan, trying to capture the beauty of this country one photo at a time. More?

If this blog post has entertained or helped you, please follow/upvote/resteem. Also, consider buying me a beer.

BTC: 1Gvrie5FDBNBb6YpGBiaTvA5AyvsP814BN
ETH: 0x2Ce5c2b5F3f1a888b50A7bA9002E4F742784dF9c
LTC: LUVLvatsFqCubrJAVmCNQaoUdFAdnUCysU
BCH: qrzdazep5xfxax0ydppun89cxfts2vup9q4wnfn025

Thank you :)
Sort:  

I enjoyed your post! I didn't really understand the ulog tag until you explained it in your post - so thanks! Never heard of Obon -interesting idea. I have only been to the chiropractor once and I absolutely hated when he popped my neck! It scared me and I felt a weird numbness! My son, daughter and husband all have been to chiropractors many times and liked the "treatments". The neck popping didn't bother them!

Thanks for the comment.

I'll have to write more about Obon sometime. It is an interesting holiday.

Honestly, I was a little worried about having my neck popped. As a result I found it a little difficult to relax fully when she was swinging my head around.

This was a such an entertaining Ulog, I like your kind of funny, dbooster. I’m reading this on my train ride to see a client, and I was sniggering quietly.

I can’t relate to the chiropractic experience. I’m someone who doesn’t like being massaged or manipulated. It makes my injuries or strains worse. Hubby on the other hand has had much experience, and he sees Chiros as bad value for money. He’s racked up many therapy bills over the years due to shoulder injury. He sees their work as short term relief and swears by his Osteopath.

As for ghosts, they are real! But as I like to tell hubby, they won’t be interested in him (or you), because you guys wouldn’t take them seriously!

You did great, I’d love to read more personal accounts of your day. Something tells me I’ll get more chuckles from your observations...

Funny your husband likes a Osteopath. Years ago I had read a few books by Dr Andrew Weil, an alternative medicine doctor, and in one of his books he had a lot of great things to say about Osteopathy. Inspired by him, I looked for a Osteopath for a while, but none were to be found in my small town in Indiana or any of the surrounding areas. Ho hum. I think that particular health journey ended up with me seeing an Indian Ayurvedic doctor. That was an interesting experience. Hmm. There's another story, I suppose I could write up sometime.

haha they would realize I wouldn't take them seriously, or that I would be too terrified. To not seriously believe something and then be confronted by it can have unexpected results, I imagine. Not quite the Lovecraftian broken mind thing, but who knows. Anyway I don't expect to see any. But we shall see. Yet I love Japanese ghost stories. I think I have both Mulder and Scully in my head sometimes.

Anyway, glad you enjoyed my story :) I enjoyed writing it so if something else pops up, I will see about writing it up.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by linnyplant from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29