Nicaragua Crisis ~ My Second Close Encounter With The Men in Black

in #ulog6 years ago

brush_fire_.png

Last night was another of those nights you would rather not happen. It would be a long night and an even longer morning.

About 8:30 pm last night we could smell smoke. The kind of acrid smoke that burns the nostrils, stings the eyes and causes you to cough. Then we could hear the flames. Time to man the battle stations.

We have full faced smoke masks for the kids that went on first, and Abuela Socorro and our new mama gathered the kids in the main house for safety. The guys brought out the irrigation pump and the hoses. He connections to the wells were made ready. We called a friend who has a pumper truck and alerted him.

We still didn’t know what exactly was burning, so one of the guys put on his harness and went up the 100-foot tower for a look see. He could see some trucks, he thought they looked like 4x4’s on the back side of the fire that was burning uncontrolled across the salt flats from the river towards us. To the experienced eye of our lookout, it looks like the people in the trucks helped the fire get started.

While he was up there the trucks left and headed towards the beach. We had been told several days ago, that the men in black have a command post there. So we assume that the fire was started for a reason.

Jamie brought his tanker and soaked an area behind the walls. Then he came around, picked up a few of the guys, some of the hoses and the pump. They were headed to the river to pump water on the fire. A large number of men from the fish farms had already arrived to help out. No point in calling for a fire brigade. They all quit at the beginning of May as they weren’t being paid.

I made sure we were secure and safe while the guys were fighting the fire. About 4:30 in the morning, Jamie brought a bunch of dirty, hungry and tired guys home. They had put the fire out. The day crew from the fish farms would be monitoring for any flare-ups.

Nicaragua 3.jpg

The guys washed up and Socorro and I had a hearty breakfast ready for them. Eggs, gallo pinto (rice and beans), fresh goat cheese, warm tortillas, fruit and herbal tea. After breakfast they went to rest. I took three guys with me and went to Don Manuel’s place across the road for an inspection. He was worried that with the fire there may have been some damage.

We could see where some one or something had breached the fence at the back of the property. We would have to wait for morning to get some supplies from the hardware store in Poneloya. They wouldn’t be open until 8 am.

I retrieved my tablet and planned to stay with the guys until we had the fence fixed. I could use the time to write a post and perhaps see who is on discord. I can get a wireless connect from my tower.

About 7:40 am I was sitting outside under the shade of the patio at the neighbours and the guys were getting their tools ready to fix the fence when we heard the engine of a 4x4 revving out by the back fence. My heart was in my mouth. I knew they would be coming in whether or not they were invited.

Sure enough 5 huge men in black (I think they only come in one size – extra large) come rumbling up to where I was sitting. I did not get up to greet the interlopers. I cast the guys a look and they knew to keep busy. They know the drill.

I feel the shadow before it speaks to me. “Do you own this property, madre.”

“No. Mother Earth and the Creator do. My neighbour is the steward.”

“Who are you, madre and who is your neighbour?

“ I am madre. My neighbour is amigo.”

“ I want your name. What are you called.” I think he is frustrated already, thinking I don’t understand what he is asking.

“I am called many things, madre, mama, tia, abuela and prima.”

“No! The name on your identification?”

“I don’t own any identification.” Which is true, the pieces that I have access to say the government of Canada and by extension, her Majesty the Queen of England but I am not about to try and explain it to this man.

“Hey you, over there! What is this woman’s name?”

“We don’t know. She is Tia or Abuela to us. We never asked” they say as they shrug and get on with looking busy.

The man in black gets huffy and tells one of the henchmen to watch us closely while he takes the other two to search the property. Henchman is standing behind me looking at my screen as I type on discord. I am trying to get a message to my son in Managua. I have the anti glare screen tipped so I am sure all he sees is a dark screen. Even if he could read English which I doubt, I am careful to write in code to my son. He gets the message and sends out word to our friends in the compound.

We hear them rummaging through all my neighbours belongings. It takes everything fiber of being I have not to get up and try to stop it. I give the guys lots of credit for not moving a muscle when I can see in there eyes they want to get into it with these men. They have big guns. I have nothing.

The head honcho returns and said, “Tell whoever owns this mess we will be back to talk with him later!” With that he motioned with one arm and the group trudged back through the broken fence to the waiting 4x4. The engine revved hard and spun its wheels as it left in a cloud of dust.

I needed to sit for a few minutes in order to stop shaking.

They wanted names specifically. I never give out my name to anyone these days. If I was a privacy hound before, I am more so now if that is possible.

A knock on the front gate alerted us to the presence of more people. These were friends who had gotten the word and came to help. They brought lots of materials and an electrician. The fence was fixed in no time flat with some added features. It was now electrified with extra booby traps placed on both sides of the fence. I wouldn’t want to try to come across that fence at night, or any time for that matter.

After I came back to the compound, I heard from a reliable source that they are looking for foreigners, especially those that may take arms against the government. Perhaps it is a good thing that I am small, grey and frail looking? I just want to protect that is mine and live in peace.

We haven’t heard anymore activity behind us on the salt flats or in the neighbourhood for the rest of the day. We have doubled up on guards and added more security. We have a lookout who cimbs the tower at odd intervals checking out the horizon.

I am hoping and praying we don’t have a third encounter.

CECICASTOR.gif

Virtuecirclebanner1.png

ghscollective_logo.png

Sort:  

oh my gosh cecicastor that is scary stuff, you were super calm and brave and everyone did so well! I pray that they never come back.

I pray for that too, @janton. These guys are nasty and there is no rhyme or reason to their visits...I didn't feel cool inside! Someone told me once that I would make a good poker player...

ha! yes a good poker player. well the strategy that you all used is brilliant, those guys are thugs working for the failing government?

Yes, they are. Hoping they don't come back...

Thank you for sharing this experience, I'm praying for my Nicaraguans brothers and I'm hoping that this situation gets resolved soon. I'm from Costa Rica and we are seeing terrible news everyday and instead of decreasing everything seems to be intensifying. Please keep me posted so I can see (read) the truth from first hand.

Thank you, @raserrano for your prayers and concern. We are praying for peace too. I post when I feel it is safe to do so. Sometimes things are so bad I don't feel like posting because the world doesn't need to see more bloodshed.

You are very wise I hope everything will settle down soon and get better.

I know you are doing everything possible in this terrible situation to be safe and keep everyone around you safe, too. My amazingly brave friend. Sending hugs and a tip! and feeling helpless.

Thank you, @melinda010100. I really appreciate our kind words and the tip! I think having to provide safety for so many helps keep my mind active and not focused on the situation that my son finds himself in, in Managua. Thank you for the hug, I appreciate hugs more than anyone knows...

Thank you, tipu

Toyota manages to extract a lot of TAX money over there as well. Looks like Trump will be good friends with Toyota

We have so many players, you need a playbook to understand what is happening and by the time you think you have, something changes the playing field. Politics makes for strange bed fellows.

How terrifying. I'm so impressed with your coolness in that situation!

I may be cool on the outsides, but my stomach is churning and my knees are quaking. You can show weakness to these men. Afterwards, it takes me a while to decompress, because I need to be strong for the others, especially the kids.

You are certainly strong and brave! Deep breaths. You are truly a mama to be reckoned with!

What can I say? I take after my granny who was a lot tougher than me! I never knew her to back down and she never showed what she might have been feeling inside. I think she kept it all for granddad.

What a frightening story you told us today. I am so glad that it went well in the end. But you must have been very scared during the visit of those men. Here in the Netherlands, we do not read or hear anything anymore about the situation in Nicaragua. But because of your posts, we are reminded that it is still a terrible situation in your country. You and everyone else have dealt with it so well. I can only hope that those men stay away and do not bother you anymore, but I think you are afraid they will come back. I wish you all the strength of the world and will continue to pray for you and all your loved ones.

Thank you, Clio. Yes, I am afraid they will return. They are like bad pennies and keep showing up when you least expect it. There is no way to predict when and why they will come. All we can do is be prepared the best we can, and don't give them any information they can use against us.

I hope they stay away or get electrocuted just enough to make them move on.

That is the intention. They are just up to no good.

Hope they leave you alone now

I am not holding my breath. I think they will be back at least once more...

I am not holding
My breath. I think they will be
Back at least once more...

                 - cecicastor


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Hopefully they get electrocuted, they deserve a few 1000 volts lol

I don't think our lines hold that much...perhaps 220 so perhaps enough to give them a good jolt.

Shame you couldn't video it lol still would like to see it :)

Me too. I wish I had a video of it. It would be posted by now! But we had no idea these guys were coming...

Oh my dear, you are so brave! Sending you positive thoughts, love and gentle hugs. xoxox

Thank you, @jcedwards. I wasn't feeling very brave at the time. I was just trying not to get shot! Thanks for the hugs! Some days I need them more than others and this was one of those days!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71