Ulog 009 - I made banga soup for the first time

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

I've always eaten banga but I never got around to preparing it myself, so I did yesterday for the first time, with assistance of course. So, my south south people how una dey? I dey come una side oh....

Banga soup is also called ofe akwu, akwu is palm oil. So this is palm oil soup. It is made from freshly extracted oil from palm fruits. Research shows it contains 800 calories and it is best served with Starch. This is a major delicacy for the Delta people of Nigeria.

How I prepared mine;

First we got all the ingredients we'd need image
Mortal and pestle

image
Fresh pepper

image
Scent leaf and seasoning

image
Our darling banga

image
Grated pepper, crayfish and onions

image
We rinsed the banga and set it to boil for 30 minutes, ensuring that it is well covered in water.
After 30 minutes, we checked for softness, once we confirmed that, we proceeded to pound it.

image
image
Before pounding

image
After pounding, we added hot water to extract the oil from the shaft.

image
Separate the kernels from shaft and add more hot water to bring out the oil.

image

We cooked two varieties; one with scent leaf and the other with bitter leaf.
image

Bring your swallow let's eat. Food don land, oya show Mae we chow. I had mine with pupuru last night and rice this morning.

All pictures were taken with my Techno K9 phone.

image
Credit @daniel-otaniel

Will you try this anytime soon? Do invite me please. Enjoy your Saturday

Sort:  

so nice post dear @bookoons

It looks good, I hope it taste as good as it looks

hehe
i miss naija

can u dhl it to me?

Sure. Send your address.

Nice @bookoons, you have made me salivate. I will cook mine too. Thank you for the invite. Banga soup na my best with starch. Na so we like am for our we side.

Invite me next time

Wonderfully done... Nice post @Bookoons

@bookoons, you didn't invite me.

Sorry...I still have some left

Your post has been upvoted by @steemiansarens trail. Our goal is to support minnows and help them grow. You can join our discord server here and Whastapp here.. You can also support us by either contributing steem or delegating SP to us

You did a great job, but next time cook am plenty so you go invite all of ours.

Alright. I will

The culinary art is very good. I did not know that soup, very good recipe, it looks exquisite, greetings and thanks for teaching us the cuisine of Nigeria.

Thank you for stopping by. You could try it sometime

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85