#ULOG 13: A DAY WITH MAMA MARY

in #ulog6 years ago

My grandmother is a very loyal Catholic devotee and being her grand daughter has its pros and con when it comes to religion. You know, she believes that it is the Catholic religion that would save her, I grew up believing it too, until I realized that it is not. I realized that no matter what religion you are in, we are praising and believing in one God. It is just the way we show our praise and faith that differs in every religion but if you sum it up everything is the same. I respect each and every one's opinion on how he/she should show her faith but she doesn't and it used to be our argument before. I still understand her though.

IMG_20180613_025544.jpg

One of the tradition in the Catholic religion is what we called dawn rosary. Dawn rosary is like a walk with Mary done at 4 in the morning across the barangay. We pray the rosary while walking in the streets and someone we'll carry the statue of Mama Mary in front. But when, brother Paul had come to our place he changed everything on how we should do it. He taught the organizers of the dawn rosary to ask every household in the barangay to let Mama Mary in their house for a day before it would be transferred to another home again. The family will not be forced if they didn't want to do it though. It used to be from chapel back to the chapel. It's different now. Sometimes the household offers snacks to the organizers others won't. It is not compulsory.

Yesterday, it was our turn. One of the organizers came to me asking if it is okay for them to bring Mama Mary in our home. I said yes. They did bring Mama Mary here yesterday morning that is why I got busy cleaning up our home. Today, they will be bringing Mama Mary to my aunt's house and I'll be the one to passed it to her. It feels good though to know that there are still people who exerts their effort to keep these kind of traditions alive.

Sort:  

I should've said the same thing. My religion is my heart.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25