uLog #29 - Today's Projects are Tomorrow's Memories.

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)


 
It wasn't until both of my parents were gone that I understood the value of handmade gifts and the memories they hold. Mom passed in 2000 so I think it was 2002 when I found the plastic canvas pattern for this memory box. I knew as soon as I saw it that I had to make it for my Dad.

Every stitch was filled with love. I don't say that to sound "special", it's true. Every stitch found my mind wandering back in time, reliving memories both good and not so good, and hoping my Dad would enjoy his gift.

It really wasn't very hard to make, it was fun in fact. Figuring out how to attach the hardware and adding the felt covered foam board for stability was a challenge. I think the hardest part was parting with two of my precious few photos of them together, enjoying their trip down East. I don't remember how old I was when they took that trip but I was little.


Below is a close-up of the hinge hardware. Remember those paper clips we used in school to bind pages together? The brass ones that looked like they had two legs which would be bent outward? I used those to attach the hinges and I think it worked very well.


After Dad died I found the memory box on his dresser and do you know what I found in it? Memories! A full set of Canadian Centennial coins from the year I was born, (for non-Canadians that would be 1967) and a cassette tape with his voice. HIS VOICE! It's irritating that I don't have anything to play it on. I'll have to borrow some equipment and digitize it so I can share with my siblings.


This memory box sits on its own shelf in my living room where I can see it everyday and it's strangely comforting. I know Dad loved this gift. His face lit up when he unwrapped it, examined it and in an emotional voice just said, "Thank you." That's all he needed to say.

When we give from our hearts it's felt by others and it's cherished.


Thought for the day:

A loving heart is the truest wisdom." --Charles Dickens



Until next time friends....



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://artemisnorth.com/ulog-29-todays-projects-are-tomorrows-memories/
Sort:  

I feel you, memories, last!

Posted using Partiko Android

I remember that trip ... they went to visit a couple from Massachusetts they had met on another trip they had taken. Looks like Dad knew you'd be getting some memories back when he passed. He did things quiet like that.

He sure did! That's what I kinda thought too when I saw the coins.

You got a 12.73% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @grow-pro!

Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale. Visit http://www.upmewhale.com for details!

Seeing that box, it shows how much love and care you put into it. Still looks very nice too. Thanks for sharing. :)

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36