What happened to education.? Pt 1 Rolling out the parrots

in #uk6 years ago

We dont educate our younger generations anymore...



I thought i'd write about  the UK’s education system! When with my ex thankfully our school choice for her boy was a success in terms of getting the least corporate choice we had available. A smaller and as I see it ‘Steiner‘ without the £1500 a term price tag definitely not in the budget by any means. My personal belief is that our education system has become a competition between schools to see who can get the most ‘A*’ and not actually about educating the children, a ‘parrot learning system’ where you are told what to say in the exams. 


I have often thought we need a better approach, utilising a more practical and visual basis. This would have certainly benefited me being dyslexic. I was just moved to lower groups and told I would never do well, obviously I was not going to get them their high grade they required. Lucky for me my parents funded private tuition and I passed my G.C.S.E’s and A’levels and even got into university (up yours to those teachers who thought otherwise). Admittedly I did not finish the first university course, but this was mainly due to finances and the fact I was actually quite bored with the course amongst other reasons. Again this relates to our non practical approach to education hindering children to show their true potential and identify their speciality. Thankfully about seventeen years down the line and I am working having worked my balls off studying Occupational therapy getting a 2:1 and loving it, if only I could have been helped with this decision all those years ago….!



Reading about the Scandinavian ways of doing things and the higher level of equality over there, I admire it greatly; still not free but a better scenario. When I was sent the video I am about to post it came as no surprise to me. It shows how the Finish approach to education differs so considerably to our regimented system, in fact it’s not too far from the ‘Steiner‘ approach. With all teachers having a masters in their subject and the relaxed and practical approach, it’s no surprise they have the best education results on this planet. So a question to our want to be leaders “Why not adopt this approach, and stop this insufficient parrot learning you currently adopt?”



My major concern is kids are being taught not to question. In schools the teacher is apparently right at all times. I for one know when I questioned the teachers it marked me as disruptive. This is a sure way to implement a numb society. We dress them the same and sap out individuality recently I heard of a boy having too long hair the the school sending him home until he cut it! People questioning others creates dialog and can bring on new perspectives and ways of thinking. This is what creates knowledge; the questioning what you see and already know. Also comparing it to your own experience. As I have always said and told my ex's boy trust your instinct; if something does not feel right then more than likely it is not. We are not the same so why should we all be taught to have the same perception. Everyone is individual and therefore views every situation differently, have you ever been somewhere with someone and heard them describe it after?  You'll sit there thinking where did they go the missed so much! 

But we teach our kids the their is one answer to everything and if you don't agree with the norm  you are wrong! Too often kids who are more inquisitive loose interest and become the disruptive ones and losing out. We are sucking the creativity out of them and creating little robots ready to pen push for forty years in the same way as all the other Joe Blogs around them! In the same way the generation before them and so on; paying our taxes funding the murder of innocent kids around the world only to get a shit pension at the end of it spend the last few years in a home the dying without dignity and that a whole other post folks. Schools teach kids to be loyal production workers; Prince EA sums it up perfectly.

Ok so i've rubbished the system what's the solution you might say. And I quote the great anarchist saying Live and Let Live! It's getting a bit long so i'll muster up some solutions in Pt 2 👍🏽

Some more craftily composed letters by me:


Are we walking into the mother of all traps?

From back in 2017 - This sums up modern society!

Having A Crack At Growing Oh Natural ...


Sort:  

They want people clever enough to follow orders...not question them. Schooling is simply government programming.

Indeed and this is the problem but now people are using their ability to question again the monkey is stirring and the paradigm is changing for the better. But we have to change this to assist the monkey to awaken 💯🐒

You're monkey mad you are mr monkeyman....but I think I agree :)

Haha thanks! I a true follower of the theory hence the name I did a post about it a while back https://steemit.com/life/@vibeof100monkeys/vibeof100monkeys-its-in-the-name it's what i'm all about 💯🐒

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29