Steemit Feature Request - Advanced Search

in #ui8 years ago (edited)

I would love to see an advanced search feature added to Steemit! It would be a great way for content curators to dig for undiscovered content.

Some examples of filters that could be added:
-The time the post was created
-Number of upvotes (range)
-Number of comments (range)
-Tags
-Author
-Pending Payout amount (range)
-Keyword Search
-The number of followers an author has (range)
-Upvote from a specific user

If anyone has more suggestions, please add!

Sort:  

Hi @timcliff, your post has inspired me to create a new tool, it is called Custom Feed.

Now you have more options to filter the content of your feed.

Details here:

https://steemit.com/utopian-io/@jga/introducing-custom-feed-filter-the-authors-and-posts-that-you-want-to-read

good idea! This would definitely make navigating within a tag easier.

I agree that an advanced search feature in needed within the steemit interface.

I have only been on steemit for about a week. During that time I have seen interface changes made to steemit.

As steemit matures I think it will become a very popular part of the world wide web. An advanced search capability should be in the upgrade plan for the steemit interface.

Thanks for highlighting the need for an advance search capability.

Steem on,
Mike

Welcome. I know the developers of Steemit are hard at work improving the site, and are constantly making improvements. It's one of the many things I like about the community :)

I'm a software development manager myself, so one way I feel that I can contribute to the community is to find and suggest small improvements that they can make, which will have a big impact on the site. I know that their time is very valuable, so I'm aiming for the biggest bang for the buck :)

It's a great idea. I think the reason they don't have a REAL search yet, is because the blockchain is huge, and now that we're reaching peak popularity it's growing at an even crazier pace.

Trying to index that blockchain by those parameters requires a lot of resources. It's amazing Steemit can keep their servers up with the crazy amount of traffic they must be receiving right now.

It might be possible in the future. Maybe someone will build a third party search engine for Steem if there isn't already one.

Yeah, that's a great point. The performance for a search like this to run effectively would be an interesting problem to solve. I've just started playing around with the block-chain API myself, so I don't really know how easy it would be to (efficiently) run queries like this with the data that is there.

I think it is not very complicated. In fact, I have created a tool for this type of searches. It is called custom feed. It would be nice use this in the condenser.

I am welcoming constructive criticism on my post, and have used the hashtag #critiqueme . If you have any suggestions on how I can improve my content, please reply with your suggestions here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87