How a crystal sunny beach Islet can complete your vacation! (Featuring Britania Islet of Surigao del Sur, Philippines) Part 1

in #typhoon6 years ago (edited)

Who would have thought my original holiday vacation plan would happen?!
I first planned to visit my cousin’s place to escape from City work, events and gadgets. I wanted a literal peace so much that traveling to a place far from electronic accessibility will be heaven-like! But just a week before Christmas my Auntie called for an urgent need, my mother approached me and I knew my vacation plan will be squandered. I wanted to help but my heart’s urge says I needed the vacation too. I was perplexed but I prayed for God’s guidance, at the end of the day I sent help to my aunt that was more urgent than my vacation. I remembered, if it is God’s will then He will make a way.

So I and my church friend Gemaima tried to plan for a short family trip to a local area that has a vast eye-fulfilling landscape, as a gift to our family esp. to our mothers to enjoy recreational activities. We planned the place, the car, the driver, food and you know what unexpectedly happened again? Typhoon VINTA hit our place! How can a typhoon hit on December again? It was horribly serious that two of the main bridges in our City were closed and people got stuck! The water from the river bank was very high covering rich area of the city.

(Credits to Uncle George [there is a photo credit in the photo but I can hardly read it])

(Credits to Project Lupad)

The next day, what thought to be holiday feels became a muddy-ghost town like ambiance.

(Credits to Carmichael Carzon Mejos)

Courts and schools were filled with evacuees. Gemai decided to opt the money for our family trip to instead give to the evacuees together with the young people and brethren in our church...

...grabbed available resources and gave out the most urgent items: Fresh Alkaline water, Whole Wheat Bread from Abigail’s basket and other basic necessities. Indeed it was a season of giving the real essence of Christmas. A selfless giving.

Photos Credits to Shantel Villapez Youth Leader and Main Hosts of Let’s Pray Pilipinas TV program of Hope Channel South Philippines, special mention also to Elder Chun, Villavicencio family and all Balongis brethren who didn’t just share their resources but also their hearts in giving. The giving will be continued this coming Saturday and thank you already for those who became part of this. For truly, the spirit of Christmas season can be continuously achieved only as selfless giving will be cultivated. It may not always be about big things but in small things that can make a difference!
Share Love! Share Hope!

Oh, So how about the Surigao trip? Interesting how my fingers brought me to share the story along, I hope for a little patience, I will share it on my next post then! Thank you :D

Sort:  

hala grabe ang baha oh..lapok kaayu

oo, hangtud karon naa pa ghapon ang mga lapok bya.

There is joy in service. We are made with a purpose. Share love. @vanny

Hello ate abby! thanks ate :D

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @vanny to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

thanks @originalworks for the recognition.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84