24 hour short story entry - I Wereman

in #twentyfourshortstory6 years ago (edited)

1EF71F56-3B36-4686-83BE-DACC79E9B94C.jpeg
source

I’m a Wereman, yes you didn’t hear me wrong. In this world there are Werewolves and then the less famous yet equally as supernatural are the Weremen.
I know of only 5 living Weremen and that includes me, my brother Aidan, our parents and Wolverine. ( Yes I added that last one to see if you were paying attention, of course Wolverine isn’t one of us, the X-men aren’t real. But we are real)
What are Weremen? Well we are kind of the opposite of Werewolves. They are mostly human and turn into large wolves during the full moon. For my family, we turn into humans every full moon and the rest of the time we are the most lovable wolves you will ever meet.
We live deep in the forest because let’s face it, I can’t attend public school and Aidan can’t go shopping for nail polish at the mall.
We have a home, it’s a nice cave that our parents have lived in since forever! It’s totally decked out for this century and well we are immortal so we will be around for eternity.
We are strong and invincible. We also don’t die and we can survive the worst winters because we can hibernate like bears.
Everything was just perfect, we had a great life, living and playing and just being wild animals.
We couldn’t make any more of our kind unlike Werewolves, if we bit you, you would be dead. I liked to sit at the edge of our land and peer out into the school they had built at the edge of their land. These kids always looked so cool and with each passing day I yearned to be more human just like them.
Then one day I decided I wanted to go to school and hang out with real kids. Why not right? The vampires and werewolves can attend high school! Why then can’t I?
I went in search of a special berry that only grows on the edge of the highest cliff in the land. Boil it down into a tonic and one sip can have me in my human form for at least three days.
I found the berry and made the tonic. The next thing I know I have sipped the tonic and enrolled in your high school.
Isn’t that cool? Look out for me in English literature, I like to sit right at the back. My name is Evan, you won’t miss me. I’m the guy with the wolffish good looks and charm!
The girls seem to like me, I’m the Alpha male after all. Best that the other boys don’t try and fight with me. I’m afraid I might really hurt them unintentionally.
So yeah, you with the Auburn curls, let’s go hang out at the mall. I know you want to.

This is a super cool contest! To join click https://steemit.com/twentyfourhourshortstory/@mctiller/writers-win-5-steem-twenty-four-hour-short-story-contest-for-march-6-topic-7-a-werewolf-that-turns-human-during-a-full-moon

Be careful about tagging this contest. I accidentaly misspelled the first tag and I really hope they don’t disqualify me from the contest.
Thanks for reading my story!

Sort:  

Hah! Good one, @nikisteem! :D

Thanks @ackhoo for liking my story! Unfortunately I tagged the post wrongly so I think they may disqualify me.
Check out my other work #niki !

You're good. I've read it. I've resteemed it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66598.01
ETH 3236.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66