I Attended a Donald Trump Rally

in #trump5 years ago

This past Wednesday, our President Donald Trump held a rally in Mosanie Wisconsin at the city airport. Being only half an hour away, it was almost a no-brainier. I may no like the President, but it would still be cool to go the rally, see the people and feel the energy. And energy there was. I was really surprised not only by how many people were there, but how energized they were. It was like a rock concert.

trump rally.jpg
This picture is extremely poor quality, but I did my best

Sold Out

We only got there 20 minutes before the rally and were delusional to think we could still get into the main hanger area. Trump fans were camping out 24 hours before hand and the hanger where the rally took place filled up as soon as the doors opened. So we stood with a few thousand others outside in the cold 400 feet back from a stage with a screen playing the rally inside.

All the patrons at the rally seemed nice and mostly kept to themselves. There were a few dozens protesters across the street, but not too much. We could tell this was a whole day event, kind of like a professional sports tailgate. The coolest part of the whole rally was when Air Force one flew in. Since we were at the airport, the plane was only about 1,000ft away and everyone went crazy as it landed.

The Speech

The speech was great if you didn't think about it too much. It started by addressing the pipe bomb attempts on democratic leaders. He called for unity and condemned the vindictive political language that has accelerated in recent years. He called for people to stop bullying and name calling, blaming and tearing apart. He condemned the undermining and discredit of our democratic institutions. That's all great except it's shamlessly hypocritical.







Those are just a fraction, there are many dozens more tweets attacking the Justice department, judges, government employees, the C.I.A., individuals, celebrities, and of course the media.
It's tough to take any of the speech seriously if you think about it at all. When half of what was said on the podium was either a flat out lie, or hypocritical deception. Yet, people cheered along like mindless idiots.

It baffled me until we left and passed a group of black men selling Trump shirts. The guy walking next to us talked with his wife, "those are probably democratic operatives funneling money back into their campaigns". The sentence had everything that culminated in these peoples support for the President. Far fetched conspiracy, racial undertones, and blind hatred of democrats.

Now of course this is an isolated interaction and shouldn't serve as a blanket assumption of all Trump supporters, but it was the only interaction I had during the whole rally with a supporter, but a majority of those there likely share the same mindset. How could they not if they cheer at some of the words that come from his mouth.

Sort:  

Glad you took the time to check out his rally. I went to the one in Duluth, MN a while back and it was electric. I find your last paragraph odd: "Now of course this is an isolated interaction and shouldn't serve as a blanket assumption of all Trump supporters, but it was the only interaction I had during the whole rally with a supporter, but a majority of those there likely share the same mindset." You claim not to want to make a blanket assumption and you could barely make it another sentence without making a blanked assumption! I have met some awful democrats and I have met some awful republicans in my life. I would never make an assumption on an entire group based off their stupid comments.

That you are right. I contradict myself the very next sentence. Thought about that while I was writing it, but either out of some laziness or poor writing I kept it in there. Or I just couldn't help throwing a cheap and unwarranted jab, probably the latter. Thanks for reading and keeping me honest!

I'll stay on ya! Hopefully have you on the Trump Train before 2020 😁

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14