The Practice is The Reward | On Writing #2

in #triptolemus6 years ago

Writing is something that can be very difficult at times. Sometimes it can be extremely difficult to have the patience and the fortitude and willingness to sit down with an idea and just write your way through it.

Other times, we enter a sort of flow state. We gain this seemingly otherworldly ability to put words to a page and describe our idea in magnificent terms.


The Writer's Reward

A lot of aspiring writer's and bloggers may wonder what the reward is for writing.

Is it a finished piece gaining recognition?

Is it the feeling you get when you finish a piece?

Is it making money for the piece you've made?

Is it the ability to share your ideas with others?

I think that writing provides us with these as rewards and more. But the most important reward is the practice of writing itself.

I've heard writing described as a sort of Steam engine - a Steam engine propels the train forward by letting steam build up and then releasing the pressure.

Writer's experience something similar. We do things in our daily lives to let the steam build up and then when we sit down with a pen and paper, we let the pressure out and put words to the page.

I find writing to be therapeutic for my mind. I can feel an almost healing sensation and a release when I have an idea and then see that idea come to fruition on the page.


Application to Everyone

While this talk is focused on writing, this idea of loving the actual practice of your craft is the true key to happiness in my opinion.

If you love the act of practicing your craft, then you will always be happy because practicing your craft is what will consume most of your time.

If you can lose yourself in the practice and just let yourself enter that flow state, then you will feel an unparalleled happiness - that's how I feel each day when I sit down to write and think about my investments!

Sort:  

I agree with you. practice is the key of success.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Writing is a very big art

Writing is something that can be very difficult at times. Sometimes it can be extremely difficult to have the patience and the fortitude and willingness to sit down with an idea and just write your way through it.

I just want to piggyback on this. Sometime this week I wanted to write but I couldn't bring myself to picking up my pen and it seemed I was having a writer's block. But the moment I did everything just flowed naturally.
As a creative writer one of the basic problem I face is inertia-- not being able to set things in motion, and this usually gives one a sense of barrenness. As you rightly said, the act of writing is a reward in itself and this motivates you and keeps you active as a writer. So one should constantly keep the creative fire burning through practice. Speaking from a creative writer's point of view, no word, story or idea is your own as Stephen King emphasised in his book. You just have access to the universe of ideas when you commit yourself to your art.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99