Turning the place over

in #tripsteem5 years ago

image

Some years ago I went to Liverpool in UK, the famous birthplace of the Beatles, and the Liverpool football club if you're a football fan. I put my hand up first, I'm not a Liverpool fan so didn't visit Anfield, sorry to disappoint the Reds. What I have for you instead, is a very unusual piece of art work called Turning the Place over.

This was designed by a famous British sculpture called Richard Wilson, and was to part of the Liverpool Biennal International Festival of Contemporary Art held in 2008.

In simple terms Wilson cut a disc out from the front of a building, stuck it on a massive rotator to allow the disc to oscillate in three dimensions.

The disc measures 8m in diameter and the massive rotator is the type normally used in the shipping and nuclear industries. As it rotates during the day, you can get a glimpse of the inside as the sun shines though the opening into the building.

This is probably the most fascinating piece of public art work I have ever seen. It encompasses architecture, street art, engineering all in one. I remember, I was standing here for about 15 minutes just watching in awe as it rotated continuously. Unfortunately for most of you readers (unless you went previously), this piece of artwork closed in 2011, so I am glad that I can still share it with you.


Location information
● Moorfields, Liverpool, UK



Turning the place over

This is posted on trips.teem

image

Sort:  

Hi, just wanted to stop by and say you've been upvoted by @CritDay.

Keep up the great Architecture related posts.

Logo 318.png

Thanks a lot!

Hello~ @sinochip ~ My best wishes for a New Year That full-fills your dreams and hope Happy New Year.^^!

Thank you @trips.teem, and all the best to you as well. Hope @trips.teem will continue to grow in 2019

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66004.40
ETH 3243.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.19