Lifting Heavy Hearts With A Canadian Folk Music Experience

in #tribevibes5 years ago

IMG_4817_01.jpg

Me with my dad in Alberta, Canada.

I've just arrived home from a visit with my parents in Nova Scotia, Canada. This trip was not planned and is the reason my son has flown down to visit. He surprised them, and I know it meant a lot to my dad.

Even with Kyle there It soon became a heavy-hearted, emotional visit. I don't have answers to what is happening with my dad, and so, for now, I need to help in whatever way I can. Sometimes there's nothing you can do other than try to lift your loved ones and help lighten the situation, that is the role I seem to have adopted in my family.

We needed to get out of the house and change the vibe. I took them to see a Leahy concert. There's something pretty magical and soul healing about Celtic sounds, fiddles, accordions, and traditional step dancing. I saw my dad's eyes brighten, I saw him smile more, and clap his hands, and for me, there is no better way to help someone feel better than finding something that can light them up inside.

Music is a form of natural medicine not to be underestimated.

Does music heal emotional suffering? Research says yes. I say YES too. You can read more here. Do you agree? Disagree?

I expect a lot of you won't have heard of Leahy and so I thought I'd give you a mini-concert experience Canadian style.

Leahy is a Canadian Folk Band comprised of eight multi-talented musical siblings who have been playing music together their entire lives.

They started out performing with their parents, and now a third generation is growing up and coming on board. They love music and performing together and you can't help but absorb that energy.

The young man in this video is their nephew Xavier, still in school. We watched him play the fiddle, guitar, and accordion and WOW! Even more special, his dad is the one playing the drums.

Leahy Music Camp!

Not only do they perform but they share their passion for music with others.

Leahy Music Camp has gained a reputation for being a significant source of inspiration and instruction for people of all ages and ability. It offers lessons in fiddle, piano, step-dancing, singing, guitar, bass, drums, mandolin, accordion, music technology, songwriting, composing, and more! After watching their concert, I wanted to have more babies and become a singing and dancing family! :) I guess I'll dust off the banjo again and start practicing. https://leahymusiccamp.ca/

Be well and enjoy some music,

Charlotte

Sort:  

Ah, so cute!! Love that pic of you and your Dad. I know that heavy heart feeling...!!! I'll listen to those tunes later... music DOES impact us massively. How nice to have this new memory of something nice with your father. Xx

Posted using Partiko Android

So sorry to hear about your dad @walkerland! Lovely that you could lift his spirits with that wonderful music! I sure enjoyed their tunes!
Thanks for sharing!

Glad you enjoyed it @porters and thank you.

What a lovely gift for your father and your family. Such positive energy and a family working together through the generations.

The Leahys are wonderful! This is EXACTLY the kind of music I love to see live, performed with such joy and happiness.

The timing of this post was perfect, as I had time this morning to listen to all of them. :)) Such an uplift on another rainy day.

Thank you!

I am so glad you enjoyed them @goldenoakfarm!

There is something so clean, honest and WHOLEsome about folk music, in general. Leahy Music Camp is new to me and I look forward to listening when I'm back in Thailand next week - enjoying a self-imposed silence-fest while I'm travelling in Vietnam for 12 days. And how NURTURING is that??!!


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

oh wow! Enjoy vietnam and your silence fest - sounds so wonderful to me!!

I am here for you if you need anything xxx

thank you, that means a lot. xx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28