Tribesteemup QOTW: "What Is The Meaning Of Life & Why Are We Here?"

in #tribesteemup5 years ago

Thank you @ELAmental for putting forth this GREAT question for the tribesteemup community. It really had me digging deep into my thoughts and soul as I dissected what it all means to me

"What Is The Meaning Of Life & Why Are We Here?"



I believe when people hear these two questions, their thoughts immediately turn to religion. You know, the old argument of "Creationism vs. Evolution" theories.

Let me start this answer and post off with an explanation of who I was in the religious realm of life many years ago and then the way I evolved as an adult to my own thinking and beliefs.


Image Source-Pixabay


I was born into a semi-practicing Roman Catholic family. What I mean by semi-practicing is this...


  • I attended weekly catechism classes all through elementary/primary school; I even had my first Communion and Confirmation at the local Roman Catholic church.

A catechism is a summary or exposition of doctrine and serves as a learning introduction to the Sacraments traditionally used in catechesis, or Christian religious teaching of children and adult converts

I attended these classes, learned about the Ten Commandements, learned and memorized all the Catholic prayers and once a week I repented for my sins during confession. I was usually admonished by the priest (Father), told to never do it again and to say two Hail Mary's and one Lord's Prayer then the Father scooting me on my way and waited for one of my classmates to enter the confessional.

  • As a family we attended church services for the major holidays, funerals, weddings, Baptisms, communions... you get the idea. My mom would take some of our Easter or Christmas food in a beautiful basket every holiday to get it blessed by the Father during church services.

When I was an adult with my own children, we attended a non-denominational church. But something was missing.
Even now, I was attending a Christian church that has a great congregation, are very community orientated and have always extended a hand to us. But still... something is missing.

Not a day goes by that I don't listen to Joel Osteen... his messages really speak to me.I have many of his books and some of the pages are dog-eared saving some of my favorite inspirational words from him. Some days you just need that lift me up

So what was missing?

My inner soul being content. My inner joy being filled. My inner happiness being fed. My own belief that I can worship any way I want to. Not having to have someone preach to me. Knowing that I have sinned and that my Father in Heaven can forgive me for my errors.

So for me... being here and what is my purpose doesn't necessarily gear towards the religious factor. It is more about being filled to brim of my soul with personal growth, well being and merriment.

I hope I didn't upset anyone, hurt anyone's beliefs or cause someone to dislike me with this statement

But NOT being full-force, attend church services every Sunday and Wednesday and adding to the tithe does not make me a bad person. It makes me who I am.

border.png

"What Is The Meaning Of Life & Why Are We Here?"

Life to me is:

  • Working for a common goal you share within your family
  • Being unconditionally loved by those you care about and love
  • Be able to provide needs for my family
  • Be able to protect my family
  • Appreciating ALL that we have been given (whether the clean air we breathe or the warm home we reside in)
  • Learning to rely on myself and my inner circle of family
  • Knowing that when I shut my eyes every night, that God had given me one more day to succeed
  • Waking up every morning knowing God has given me one more day to succeed

border.png

Join Us On Discord

Sort:  

The meaning of life is to have a life of meaning.

That goes down as the truest statement I've heard in years!

You didn't offend me, but then I don't come from an environment where God is central. I don't think it matters whether you go to church or not or what God you believe in or whether you believe in god at all , as long as you were being a good person in every aspect of your life. I definitely think that we should take meaning from this comma rather than anything we think might be bigger or better. That is enough for me. I suppose I should write on this question too , I stopped really thinking about life's meaning once I felt comfortable with what the meaning was to me anyway

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @goldendawne!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.775 which ranks you at #1394 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 1 places in the last three days (old rank 1393).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 276 contributions, your post is ranked at #105.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

People's beliefs and perception in life are different all over the world. The most important part of it is respecting what one believes. Pursuing what makes us truly happy, finding the meaning of life is a journey and sometimes the answer is just around us. Just waking up everyday is a blessing for all of us. I do not find anything offending in your perception of life. How you perceive life is very beautiful.

I really love your definition of life for you. I hope that I will be able to adapt some for the future. One line that I like was when you wrote that we should always appreciate everything. I think that is really true! Thank you for sharing this words of inspiration!

I had a very similar upbringing to you, and I always found something was not so much as missing but more like being ignored, I did not understand why we were in cold builds giving our thanks, why not outside in nature, isn't that what we had to be thankful for.
I love how you say life is all about being true to you, that is it exactly, thank you for this x

Happy Thanks Giving🙏 your support always made me to stand on steemit. Especially for nominating me for the qurator quretie. It was a welcome surprise

Posted using Partiko Messaging

howdy there goldendawne! hey this is very non-offensive and I totally understand where you're coming from so I think you did a great job! God bless you guys up there!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66598.01
ETH 3236.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66