Ulog 24: Making Freezer Beef Bone Broth

in #tribesteemup6 years ago (edited)


I ended up with two quarts and ten half pint jars of beef bone broth for the freezer.

I use beef broth for so many different recipes including:

  • Beef Stroganoff
  • Mediterranean Pasta dish
  • Beef stew
  • All different stews and soups I make up as I go
  • Corned beef in the crock-pot
  • Beefsteak for sandwiches which I simmer in the broth
  • Moisture (in an aluminum pan) in the BBQ grill when turned into a smoker for different meats
  • Roast in the crock-pot for dinner
  • Pull beef sandwiches

I have six more soup bones from the butcher from the 1/4 cow we picked up last week, so when I'm out of this batch of broth, I can make three more stock pots of it for the freezer.

Recipe For Freezer Beef Bone Broth

  • 2- soup bone- beef
  • 3-4 stalks of celery
  • 1-2 large onions- quartered
  • 1-cup of small or largely chopped carrots
  • 2-3 Bay Leaves
  • Salt (about 1-2 teaspoons) We are on a low-sodium diet so I used 2 teaspoons and the broth is still bland but I'm ok with that
  • 1- teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1-teaspoon Whole peppercorns
  • 3- cloves of roughly chopped garlic or the whole cloves
  • Enough water to cover ALL ingredients completely

Simmer for 2-3 hours then let cool completely to room temperature. Skim off the congealed fat and remove ALL the vegetables, bones, meat and bay leaves. Pour into prepared (clean and sterilized) jars. LEAVE A minimum of 1-inch head space to allow for liquid to expand during freezing.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS


NOTE - You can also prepare your soup bones in the oven ahead of making the broth. On a cookie sheet season bones with salt and pepper and a little olive oil. Bake at 325-degrees for 1 hour then add to stock pot.

I don't usually do this step but that is my own choice.

All the meat that came off the bones while simmering for a few hours was set aside for my little gal... yeah, this is her treat this week. DOESN'T SHE LOOK EXCITED ABOUT THAT!

qqq.jpg

signature.gif

Join Us On Discord

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Sort:  

I'm about to make chicken bone broth right now. I buy whole frozen chickens to be cooked as needed (after defrosting in the downstairs frig). Once all the meat has been eaten, then I cook the bone broth slowly for a couple of days. Then that goes into the deep freeze, to be rotated with the other quarts of broth.

We always have broth in both freezers here. When my older animals need some extra nutrients, they get bone broth. When I cook my rice, I use bone broth.

And I usually put sea vegetables plus some astragulus root in the broth, so it is even more medicinal and nourishing.

Our food is our medicine. :-)

I do the roasting part as it adds a beautiful brown color and deeper flavor to the broth. I make between 50 - 75 quarts every 2 years of beef bone stock. I use it much the same way you do.

This is superb! Such goodness in every spoonful. I make it for my husband but I am vegetarian so I miss out.

Bone broth is the greatest thing. Chicken is easier to get, but there's no denying the flavor of beef too! I do almost everything with bone broth, including cook rice in it. When we get beef broth I add it to the sort of homemade hamburger helper style meals I make and it's magical :D

Hi @goldendawne!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.716 which ranks you at #1434 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 298 contributions, your post is ranked at #112.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Bone broth is amazing. Have you tried adding seaweed @goldendawne? I love fresh tumerica and seaweed in my bone broth. Apart from adding to the flavour they are packed full of goodness

You can do a lot with beef broth. It makes the dishes that you make taste a lot better.
When I saw the picture of your dog I said to myself this is one lucky dog to get all of that after haha.
Thanks for sharing this!

haha! look at that dog's face! man she is ready! lol. I haven't heard about the oven tip but I bet that would help to move things along faster on the stove wouldn't it? plus add more flavoring.
Beef broth is awesome!

I do my bone broth a little differently, but I don't use much salt either. You can always add salt later. I roast my bones first. It brings out the flavour, then I slow cook them for up to 24 hours along with the veggies and spices. Cool and skim off the fat when cold. Then I freeze it (running short on jars though). Did you know you can use those bones another few times to extract all the goodness before they disintegrate? #steemitbloggers

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62480.78
ETH 3045.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91