My entry for the #trialbycomics superhero art competition.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #trialbycomics7 years ago

I guess it is about time I joined a competition here on steemit. What better way to get my debut than @kommienezuspadt s trial by comics.

My entry is The Juggernaut. A superhero I invented many years ago. I never got around to actually making a comic featuring him, but I made most of the background and a lot of sketches.
Here is two of them which I have put on a page since they sort of fitted together

If you are wondering what the trialbycomics is you can check out the original posts :

here
here
and here
I think I got all of them


Im EvilHippie, a compulsive creative and jack o' trades. If you want to know more about me, check out my introduction post here

If you like what you see, feel free to upvote, follow and resteem

Sort:  

oh damn. can you expand a bit more on who he is, abilities, etc? I love original superheroes and their background stories.

well . yeah. First of I called him Juggernaut based on the old (an wrong) interpretation of juggernaut. Based on this interpretation jaganath was a wild and destructive god.
My hero was a young and idealistic policeman of indian descent in some undefined metropolis. In the beginning he is framed by his crooked partner who has gotten the assignment by a local crimelord, to steal military tech. He is left for dead in a military lab, where, upon wakening, he comes upon an experimental stealth suit. His powers are a combination of what the suit gives him (night vision, camouflage etc) and his belief that he is chosen by jaganatha to battle evil. My idea was that the reader should never be absolutely sure whether he was actually being possessed, or whether he just think so himself. actually I havent really decided myself :-)
It sounds a bit lame when it is being explained like this , but I had some pretty cool ideas for my pilot-episode if I do say so myself.
At the time I was very inspired by the dark knight quadrilogy, and batmans belief that he is being claimed by the bat creature.

doesn't sound lame at all. i like that idea of him believing there's a higher force choosing/possessing him. makes plenty of room for any "superhuman" limits -- like how we tend to break our limits of speed and strength if high doses of adrenaline are involved. if someone believes they are possessed by a greater force, then i think their body would totally push to greater limits, more endurance, more standing up after every fall because they have something to believe in. cool concept man :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87