Rules of Frugality #3

in #trending5 years ago

I normally make breakfast for the family on Saturdays. So this past Saturday we needed waffles, turkey bacon and milk. Before I went to the store to pickup the items I remembered that I have some wires that I have been accumulating in a box. These are extra network wires that have gone bad, or power adapter cables or just random wires like telephone cables from electronics as extras. I accumulated what I estimated to be about 15-20 lbs.

I decided this would be the day to get rid of the cables and I could use the money to subsidize the purchase of breakfast items from the store. I drove to the recycle yard that intakes recycle items like copper and was surprised that I received back $8. Fast forward to the supermarket. I purchased bacon, milk, and waffles. this is enough food to feed a family of two adults and a baby for two weekends. The total cost for the items purchased was $14.00, minus the $8 from the recycle yard. I only paid $6.00 out of pocket for two Saturdays.

To me thats a win win situation. My rules of frugality say that I should pay the least amount for the best quality. Using the recycle yard to lower the cost of breakfast was a very smart move.

Sort:  

I need to find me a scrap metal place around my suburban Philadelphia area. I have a whole aluminum exhaust system from the tailpipe with mufflers that ran way up to the middle of the car, along with the H pipe that ran up to the engine. I also have some old aluminum alloy rims that powder coated black that could bring in a decent penny. All of this weighs quite a bit.

Don't have much experience with the scrap metal business but I see opportunities sometimes in my neighbor's trash that make me wonder whether I am a fool for just letting it go to the trash trucks. It is something else I need to look into.

I had tons of wires and metal cash boxes from the internet cafe business, its amazing the amount of junk you can accumulate! I still have bill acceptors and metal cash boxes. Using these recycle yards is a decent way of getting some money back. You dont get much for the metal, but copper has the highest price. I go along with the mindset that most people just throw things that have value in the trash. If you have some heavy weight metal you might get a couple hundred dollars. Its worth a shot. I used allied recycling but there are a gazillion of them.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

You got a 26.18% upvote from @oceanwhale courtesy of @clearbluecrypto! Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @oceanwhale. Visit www.OceanWhaleBot.com for details!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76