Bradford Pear Trees [Tree Tuesday]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #treetuesday5 years ago (edited)
All through the neighborhood, the Bradford Pear trees are sporting their white blossoms and almost begging to be photographed, so that makes me think of #treetuesday, initiated by @old-guy-photos. This row of several trees is especially beautiful this time of year, and only a half-mile from where I currently live.

BradfordPearTrees.png

This tree is one of many cultivars ['Bradford'] of the Callery pear (Pyrus calleryana) which is native to China and Vietnam. It was brought to other parts of the world (152 different counties ) because of its beauty, hardiness, as well as tolerance of various "soil types, drainage levels, and soil acidity." [1] However, the trees have proven to be an invasive species in some areas because they can reproduce prolifically under certain conditions.

The various cultivars are generally themselves self-incompatible, unable to produce fertile seeds when self-pollinated, or cross-pollinated with another tree of the same cultivar. However, if different cultivars of Callery pears are grown in proximity (within insect-pollination distance, about 300 ft or 100 m), they often produce fertile seeds that can sprout and establish wherever they are dispersed. [1]

There is a factory nearby that takes wool and makes end-user products from it. The entrance road to the factory is lined with Bradford Pear trees, which resembles little balls of wool from a distance, so I jokingly refer to them as "Wool Trees." 😁

WoolTrees.png

ThanksForReading--Pink.png 😊

SOURCES
   1 Wikipedia: Pyrus calleryana

curlydivider.png

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

PowerHouseCreativesbanner.jpg

__pearls.png
20-Mar-2019

Sort:  

Oh, yes!!! I had never seen one until I moved to Texas for a few years. (or I never noticed is more like it) One of my neighbors had two in the front year and they were so beautiful and much like the ones you show, cotton balls!

I love your trees! They are beautiful and make such a pretty little drive on a nice day. I love the landscape of where you live.

Lovely.

Have a great night!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

They really are quite beautiful! I remember them well from my years of living in Texas; we don't have them here in the Northwest... as far as I know, but we do have lots of pretty flowering fruit trees here.

We must let go of the life we have planned, so as to accept the one that is waiting for us.

The do look like wool! I loooove Bradford Pear trees. We don't have them where I live now so I miss them. They are one of the first to bloom each spring. Beautiful shots @thekittygirl :)

I love watching the pear trees blossom in the South. Here in Ohio, no pear tree has dreamed of blossoming yet. It was still snowing only 2 short days ago.

#powerhousecreatives

Those are some nice looking trees. I like watchig the petals fall off. It would be like a blizzard under those.

The fruit trees are meant to start in my region this weekend with peak bloom next weekend. We have cherry blossom trees mostly.

Posted using Partiko Android

Looks like it's a little warmer where you are. I just got done beating my pear trees with a 2x4 this weekend. It helps put them in shock and produce better. We still have snow, so no pear blossoms yet.

Lovely photos! We have lots of those blooming around here right now, as well. Though I think it is the tree pollen that seems to most inflame my seasonal allergies, they are very pretty to look at and make me happy to know spring is really here!

Great photos, spring is on its way and I'm so happy. Loner days, all blooms, colors...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70733.96
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76