You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: It's all about Trees on Tuesday

in #treetuesday4 years ago

It was definitely the smell of the Christmas tree as a child, that represented to me that it was really Christmas time. Once the tree got into the house, I had my confirmation that it was on!

My mom had a little village of houses and other buildings and people she'd set up on the floor around the tree that I loved playing with, though I'd get yelled at a little if I moved things around and made it look silly.

There was always more activity in the kitchen as Christmas drew nearer, with baking and the smell of cookies in the air. Everything just seemed to be in sync with the holiday season, enhancing the spirit of the moment.

It must have been amazing to hear the Marine band play live in such a setting!

The flower you show us at the end is like nothing I've ever seen before. It's such a beauty, and as always, so are your other shots! Thanks for sharing, and here's to a joyous Christmas to you and a Happy 2020! 🍾

Sort:  

Oh, I have to agree with you there! Trees were so much more fragrant way back when. Why is that? I could smell the pine all the way through the season! Now, the tree farms don't have the same smell (to me) and the ones in the lots are precut so far in advance, they have lost that amazing smell.

My mom had little villages. Didn't everyone back then?

I have to admit, it was the parents that made the magic and passed that on to us to make the magic for our own. Everything was synchronized perfectly throughout the season. It truly was a magical time in life. I still feel Christmas in my heart every time I think about it.

The Marine Band is always amazing. I get many opportunities throughout the year to hear them play, they even do free concerts downtown in the summer, but, many of the military events have them there also. But, I never miss a chance to hear them, if at all possible.

The flower is a first for me also. It is a variegated poinsettia! Seriously. This is the first year I have seen them being sold. :)

Merry Christmas to you and a Happy 2020!

Just as an aside, I want you to know that I appreciate the time and thought you always put into your comments(and posts) At this time of hurry up and fill the square, you certainly make each word count. Thank you for that. Have an amazing day @ree-reign

!tip .20

I think you hit the nail on the head with the trees being cut and then sitting so long before being sold. It's happened with other products that aren't as good if they sit around too long.

Christmas was viewed in America back then as though we were looking at a most cherished Norman Rockwell painting, and I think that's how most of America wanted to view it at that time in history.

I would never have guessed a poinsettia! But then I don't have much of a green thumb, so I let those with good plant karma grow the flowers; I just enjoy looking at them! :)

Thank you for your kind and lovely words! I love to write, and that includes comments! There are times when I thank someone or just say hello and maybe a little something to go along with the greeting. But most of the time I feel that if I'm saying hello, I may as well add a bit of conversation as well! :)

🎁 Hi @free-reign! You have received 0.2 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: It'S All About Trees On Tuesday Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63014.19
ETH 3071.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83