Tree Tuesday on my Early Wednesday Walk

in #treetuesday5 years ago


20180611_071723.jpg


I tend to walk through the battlefields, to stretch my legs, clear my head and to gain perspective on things. One could say that I am meandering through the battlefields of life some days. Walking in the footsteps of time helps, knowing that these hallowed grounds look nothing like the beauty shown today. Making me realize that you can make things right, eventually, with much help and understanding. Sometimes you just have to look a little closer at things. I have to wonder how many trees were used to make these fences, and why they were put together in just this way?

20180715_062147.jpg


This post is dedicated to #TreeTuesday by @old-guy-photos and although I am a little early, I hope the old guy doesn't mind sharing #WedndayWalk with @Tattoodjay. Would it help if I plead my case and say that I am so far behind and don't want to miss either challenge? No? Oh. I know. I know. Preaching to the choir! We are all so busy, yes?

20180611_072940.jpg

Sweeping over the scenery, a fraction of the area, in various places I can see that there are cannons left behind, and I reach out and touch one. Breathe it all in. I look beyond and admire the way the trees frame this particular field. Were they planted or did they come up as volunteers?


20180611_071429.jpg

Scattered throughout the State are telltale fences, depicting another time in history. I wander down the path, in the search of my trees, while the thoughts of the sacrifices made by these Civil War soldiers fell on to their shoulders, every single day, no matter which side you were on. My perceived hardships seem so shallow in comparison.

tree tuesday again 7.jpg

There is never a shortage of trees here, or of long looks on perspectives in life. This tree has been here forever and a day and it has learned how to cope with everything. Can I say the same of me?


tree tuesday again.jpg

My path is not always so clearly defined as this, but, I walk it every day and try to make sense of it all. It's not that life is so tough. It is the unseen twists and turns that come with it that make it unpredictable to plan. And yet, I wouldn't trade it for anything. It is the path forged by me. For better. For worse. Oh, to my delight, I am surrounded by the luxury of all these trees. Breathe deeply.


Or maybe this is my season
Perchance
Leaving the irrational longing behind
Flirting with living instead

TreenTuesday.jpg


Of course, there won't be cutting through the pasture today... It will be the long way home for me. Which goes to show me, I should slow down, I'm moving too fast. Enjoy the scenery of life.

cow.jpg



Lest I forget. Flowers. There must always be flowers.This picture is dedicated to #TuesdayOrange #ColorChallenge by @Kalemandra, who colors my world every single day.

image.png

And just like that, this walk is done. I want to thank @Old-Guy-Photos and @Tattoodjay for their understanding in letting me slip under the ropes of the rules and duel post. Remember! Kindness counts, wherever you go. Keep on Steemin!



Facebook

Twitter

Instagram



Thank you for visiting my post 💖 Because of you, I come back to post again and again, I am encouraged by you, for the time you take to visit, comment or even upvote. For all of these reasons, I am eternally grateful. Don't ever forget what a wonderful world we live in, people. Let's hold hands around the globe and make this earth really spin. Some days, it is not as easy to see, how wonderful it really is. Kindness counts. Wherever you go, whatever you do.


I always post this poem down at the bottom of my posts. It is one that has become so near and dear to my heart. I only post the most famous part of it, but, wanted to post it in its entirety today.

they set my aunts house on fire
i cried the way women on tv do
folding at the middle
like a five pound note.
i called the boy who use to love me
tried to ‘okay’ my voice
i said hello
he said warsan, what’s wrong, what’s happened?

i’ve been praying,
and these are what my prayers look like;
dear god
i come from two countries
one is thirsty
the other is on fire
both need water.

later that night
i held an atlas in my lap
ran my fingers across the whole world
and whispered,
"where does it hurt?"
it answered,

"everywhere"
"everywhere"
"everywhere"

warsan shire



#Steemusa is a growing community of quality-content people from the United States or those living here. Check us out on Discord!

SteemUSA.jpg

PHC-Footer-05.gif



Sort:  

Look at you, Multitasker. I think I may take a notes from your page and leave a flower to go with the color of the day if I might:) It is such a nice way to end a post:)So much beauty found here. Was blown over by this shot.

7ohP4GDMGPrUMp8dW6yuJTR9MKNu8P8DCXDU9qmmo86uQuLTH8RpUmcFNwG7s2Ny1xd2zePvmZBq5Bm6BhLZY9wriQbxbYZk31b5.jpeg

Wishing you a wonderful week, Denise:)

Well, you must know that I'm absolutely flattered by that. I do think that it's a lovely way to end the post and I normally will end post exactly that way. Because, after all oh, there must always be flowers. Am I right? Thank you for the always leaving a very kind and thoughtful comment.

You rock. Truly.

!tip

It is my master plan:)

Ah, so there is a master plan!!! :)

Always ... LOL:) I will give you and hint it involes coffee and chocolate:)

Oh, my!!! A girl after my own heart!! LOL

!tip worthy thoughts!

🎁 Hi @prydefoltz! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Tree Tuesday On My Early Wednesday Walk Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

What a beautiful area for a walk and tree Tuesday post, so much history there much of it sad but as you say time has healed the wounds on the land at least and that is a good thing to take to board.
You meant you let a few cows, slow you down from crossing that field, I thought you would have happily sprinted across the field :)

OK I to would have walked the long way I concede

and of course no problem with combining the two, you know I don't have rules just guidelines

Thanks for being an active member of SteeUSA !tip

I have to stop using the same walks in my post. I promise to at least shoot downtown but, it is dark when I get there and dark when I get out or I am sprinting to make the time. I rarely go out on break anymore. I do my walk in the corridors of life here. Ha!

Oh, the day the bull was there you would have loved to have been a fly on the wall. I didn't know it was in there and I made the fasted sprint ever across that field!

Thanks for understanding. For some reasons, Wednesdays end up being too busy most times until late.

Have a great evening!

Your walk posts are always great, I had a similar experience with a bull years ago so I can relate :)

Oh, my!!! I want to hear that story!!! LOL

It’s not that exciting just young and foolhardy

Well isn't that just the way of the world for all of us!

Yes indeed, OK here is a bit of the story, ON a cross country run when I was at school, there was one field we were meant to run across, but the farmer had got the dates wrong and had left a big bull in that field, there was someone there to warn us and suggest ( well maybe they said do not cross the field) but were were the end pack in the run and decided the bull was in. Far corner of the paddock and we could make it across, Whichwe did just barely but dang that bull was fast LOL

Hahaha!!!! OMG! Yes, they are!!!! And I found out the hard way and wished I could blame it on being young and foolish! This was not even two years ago.

Some people never learn or look which way they are going. I can tell you that I am a lot faster than I thought I could be. :)

Loved this! Viewing these photos and looking at the present scenery would make one ponder about how things came about. Those fences are definitely unique. It’s crazy thinking about the wars and loss of lives that took place in the very same places you walked on. Lovely tree and walk post!

It is so bizarre to me, and I have a hard time fathoming it and Arlington Cemetery, which was where Lee's House stood, and actually still stands today. It is at the top of the hill overlooking the cemetery, which was not at the time.

History can be cruel in so many ways and I always hope that we don't miss the lesson in it.

Thank you for stopping by!

!tip

Arlington National Cemetery was deliberately placed on Lee's property after the Civil War ... to make a "statement."

The property was high and free from floods (which might unearth graves), it had a view of the District of Columbia, and it was aesthetically pleasing. It was also the home of the leader of the armed forces of the Confederate States of America, and denying Robert E. Lee use of his home after the war was a valuable political consideration.

Absolutely!

🎁 Hi @crosheille! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Coloring My World Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

I love that orange flower! It really expresses the exuberance of summer approaching. I've been struggling to regain control of my garden, which has turned into a jungle (long story). Despite this, there are beautiful flowers that bloom exuberantly like this, every year, no matter what! And the same goes for these lovely old trees. No matter how grim the past, nature finds a way through.

Isn't that the truth? I just look at old abandoned estates and see the flowers, especially the roses, going crazy as they grow out of control.

The summer is coming and the gardens are so telling of the tale! Yes! Trees do the same. Except my lilacs. I got no blooms this year and I'm surprised you didn't hear me whining like a little girl over it. :) I love my lilacs and can't figure out why.

Well, thank you for stopping by and I wish you a great night!

!tip

🎁 Hi @natubat! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Coloring My World Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

This is so beautiful @dswigle. What a lovely thoughtful Wednessday walk. I toured those battlefields when my daughters were young, the guide was amazing, really brought the battlefields to life. Everything looks so peaceful now, wasn't so much during the battles. Thank you, I would have loved to share this walk with you :)

Oh, I would have loved that!

There are so many Civil War Battlefields in the area and my neighborhood rides the peripheral of one. So, it is a daily walk for me, and it is a great place to find peace and yes!! Not so much way back when.

As an aside, I have a house on the shore of Virginia and my neighbors house and mine were used as hospitals during the Civil War, something I didn't know when the house was purchased!

Thank you for the visit!

Really beautiful photography! Tranquil and peaceful with no drama... until now!

!dramatoken

Hehehe! Thank you so much! That was an unexpected gift!

Thank you for taking me with you on your walk. I love the way you write. Battlefields always keep me thinking of the people which died. Died for ideals or the interests of their leaders. We have a lot of battlefields in Middle Europe, from Roman times to modern times. Fortunately, we have been at peace for more than 70 years now. Have a great weekend.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 482

Thank you for featuring my phorogeapha in the whistle stop!

!tip

🎁 Hi @thesteemengine! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you for the resteem @pixresteemer!

I am always thrilled to see you in the tag, Denise!

What I glean from historic sights such as this is the fleeting essence of life. We are just like a vapor exhaled on a winter's day. Here a moment, gone the next. When the Old Man is gone, the world wont miss a beat, just keep on spinning, just as it should.

Well I have always said I have gotten everything I know about life from old country songs and Winnie the Pooh. So I will leave you with a bit of Tim McGraw wisdom:

Don't mess with the bull, he can get real mean
Don't forget to shut the gate, stay out of the beans

Good call on passing on the pasture :)


What I glean from historic sights such as this is the fleeting essence of life. We are just like a vapor exhaled on a winter's day.

Yes. Brilliant. I wish those were my words. Exactly that. Well, the kids will miss you, don't you worry. So, there is that. :)

And yes. If there is something breathing in the pasture, this chick doesn't go through.

The kids wont even notice coz they will be too busy having a big bash! Best I can hope for is a few of the old ladies on YouTube will think where is that silly fool and his videos lol.

Oh, you big silly!! All your fans would miss the old guy! Don't you know it!!!

!tip

🎁 Hi @old-guy-photos! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Coloring My World Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63997.36
ETH 3133.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15