You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Fairy Tree

in #treetuesday7 years ago

I used to work in a Bonsai Shop in Dallas, Texas! That is such a beautiful area of the world! This is absolutely stunning and breathtaking! I am blown away at these shots! This is one of the coolest #TreeTuesday posts I have seen so far!
Thanks for sharing and all I can say is WOW! I had to resteem this one! I hope EVERYONE checks this out! I admire the fortitude and persistence of that little Bonsai!

Sort:  

Hi @castleberry! Thank you for your comments & resteem, I greatly appreciate it! Since you have worked in a Bonsai shop, I believe you must be very knowledgeable... do you feel my description of this as a "natural bonsai" would be correct? That is my interpretation but a friend told me I was wrong.. I'm happy you liked the photos, this little tree is quite famous on Vancouver Island :)

It's funny! I have a post with a miniature orange tree from a while back ago where I talk a little about it. I was working full time and got a second job at the bonsai shop once I became interested in the art. I knew nothing (other than what Karate Kid and Mr. Miyagi could teach) about bonsai. I tried to tap the store owner for his wisdom and experience... but He was a salesman. So, I decided to work there. I figured if I got the job He would HAVE to teach me. I didn't learn as much as I would have liked but the experience was invaluable!

Technically your friend is right. Bonsai is grown in a container. This limitation on the root growth makes it miniaturize itself along with the pruning process. Ultimately, I think it's semantics. To me Bonsai is a miniature tree. So, your images, in my book, would be a "natural bonsai!" Trees don't grow naturally in containers or else they wouldn't be natural.

The whole point of the art of bonsai was to be able to domesticate a wild tree and bring it home for ornamental purposes... or to recreate a scene from nature and bring that home. The bonsai trees are supposed to remind the viewer of seeing a tree from the distance. The container represents the horizon and the smaller form of the tree is to give the illusion of distance. That is what I was taught. I am sure there is more complexity to it than that. Either way.... This Art mimics nature!

To find that in nature is, imho, much cooler than creating one of those from a container! I have been to Vancouver... but I didn't visit the island. That will be one thing to visit if I make it back out that way. I would love to swim out and actually touch that little tree. The reflection is amazing. I really like the angle it's growing at off the stump. I would imagine it's from the same tree... but it's possible a seed sprouted up there in the moss... but that is highly unlikely. Sorry for writing a novel... hahaha

Thrilled that you took the time to answer, thank you! I learned a lot from you there, glad I asked! Sitting in a kayak beside this tree I could just reach the top of the stump/bottom of the small tree with my hand. You can't see it in the photos, but there is a small hole in the wood where someone has placed some round stones which were painted red... No idea what the significance of that is, just thought it was cool :)

BTW, there is a campground on the lake where you can camp surrounded by large old-growth trees. It's amazing!

Sounds like a place that I NEED to visit! I absolutely love this post! This is an amazing experience that I am glad you shared! I look forward to seeing more of your posts! Steem On My Friend! =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59159.44
ETH 2522.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47