Holiday Tree Toss ~ No. 6.0 ~ Thank You @ocrdu ~ Spreading The Christmas Cheer Worldwide ~ One Great Tradition At A Time ~ Original Photography and Drawing ~ And Semi-Short Discussion About Holiday Trees ~

in #treetoss6-international6 years ago (edited)

P1550653-2 149kb Redone.jpg



What I Found On My Computer Screen When I Woke Up This Morning

Photo by @ocrdu

A Christmas Treasure Discovered By @ocrdu In The Netherlands This Week


Opening my computer this morning, I was greeted with a most marvelous surprise from the very talented Steemit photographer and humorist, @ocrdu. I do not believe anyone out there can fathom how happy I was, when I opened the link to his post for a look. [Ocrdu Tree Toss].

OH THE JOY! This year-long, un-relentingly heavy holiday tradition of cheer we've nurtured here in the States is now spreading across the wide, blue ocean, to other parts of the world and beyond. The Christmas Tree Toss. IN THE NETHERLANDS! Be still, my fluttry heart.

Please, Do Regale Us With Some History

For anyone not yet acquainted with this marvelous Holiday practice, you can read all about it in a few posts I've put out in the past year or so (see way (↓) below). In a nutshell, this activity involves scuttling your used-up holiday tree to whatever nook, corner or cranny of town that seems 'right' as a final resting place. Just sitting there. WAITING to be discovered.

For the UN-initiated, you really should read more about it. There is an entire, fascinating world you are missing out on. All self promotion aside, suffice it to say, this activity has become downright prolific, at least in my part of the world.

Onward -- Into The Future Like A Headstrong Holiday Heifer

But this post is not all about me, nor is it a time to look back on historic events through dewy eyelids. It is a time to forage AHEAD! And what better way to do just that, than with an INTERNATIONAL Tree Toss. Once more I lilt aloud, steady on, fair-heart, steady on.

If folks are finding these discarded holiday wonder-trees in the Netherlands, where else could be far behind? Germany, Spain, Scotland, Puerto Rico, Canada, Poland, Thailand, Michigan. The list of possibilities streams on and on like one of my tri-weekly posts.

What's truly amazing, is that I've not yet finished the Tree Toss postings and wrap-up events of 2017 over HERE. And not surprisingly, have started seeing this year's 'crop' of trees pop up in the most-usual of places. Which will likely be discussed in more than a few posts on Steemit at a later time and space.

But just think, the possibilities of this make me giddy with glee. If these Christmas discards are again showing up in my country, you all should be able to find them where you live too.

But How Will I KNOW?

All it takes is a watchful eye, mobility, some heavy perseverance, and a bit of 'eyes-on' training during the actual, Holiday season. Next Christmas, spend a bit more time sitting in a chair, staring at your tree in the stand.

You will soon have the telltale shape and form etched and stamped into your gray-matter memory cells for high-end, future use. Just remember to remove the children, pets, spouses, music (except Christmas tunes), noisy neighbors, snacks, or anything else that will divert your attention away from glaring at your tree.

After a week or two of this activity, I can guarantee you'll be seeing Holiday trees in your sleep.

And the next time you are driving around town, on your bicycle, or walking to the market in any month from January to November? These discarded trees will be visually popping up like mad, myopic gophers on a dusty, windswept Wyoming plain. All you have to do is stop, observe, and take the tree's portrait wherever it lies. As simple as that prairie gopher dust.




~~~~A Short, Mid-Post Break In The Action~~~~

Close-Up Photos Of The Incredibly Detailed Cartoon


P1550624 127kb.jpg

The Delivery


P1550654-1 158 kb correct.jpg

At The Receiving End

"No good will come of this!" -@ocrdu


P1550639-2 121kb.jpg

Spudnik

A small, flighty diversion




A Motivational "Meanwhile" ~ Back In The US of A

P1530058-1 284kb.jpg

My First Find Of The Season

This coifed beauty was discovered in January of this year. And from CS-Dating (Christmas Season-Dating), this is obviously a tree from Christmas 2017, and my first tree find of the calendar year 2018. I know, I know, this whole dating thing IS complex. But you have to keep these things seasonally straight, if you are going to catalogue these errant trees. It is a taxing job, but SOMEONE'S going to do it.

I hope we can all get involved in this rousing sport -- the finding of the Tossed Holiday Tree in your neighborhood. So, with that grand idea in mind...

Let's Make It A Challenge!!

The World-Wide ~ Holiday Tree Toss Extravaganza

Personal Challenge/Major Prize-less Competition

Tree Toss International

"Show Us Your Public Holiday Discards"

The Charge: Start today! Find all the old, discarded Holiday trees you can in YOUR area. Then post a picture and/or a full post for me to find. Use the hashtag #treetossinternational . I will check it at least every month. Hopefully more often.

Or until I can build a robot that will check it for me. (Maybe the master creator @meesterboom can grab his screwdriver and monkeywrench and help me out with this.) Then I will vote on it. And make highly astute comments about your find. And be very happy indeed.

On second thought, also put a Comment into any one of my open posts, as I may forget, and such important details about life should NOT be passed over. Thank you for your time and attention to this wonderful idea. -dds

~ Finto ~



Thanks for stopping in and viewing the Holiday Tree Toss from Around The World. If you have any thoughts about Christmas tree discardia, finding Holiday trees in your area, International Contests of great worth, the drawing of cartoons, or anything else this post reminds you of, please feel free to comment away in the spaces below. I'd love to hear from you.



Poste Script - My heartfelt apologies go out ahead of time to the good folks in the Netherlands. Just in case I really butchered that saying in the first cartoon. The "Daar komt geen goed uit! " part is SUPPOSED to mean: "No good will come of this" - by @ocrdu. But who knows WHAT it really says. If it's wrong, we can all blame Google Translator. So, if I've chopped up your language here, I apologize to you, @ocrdu, and the entire nation of the Netherlands. Just in case you all see it. And if I got it right, it has NOTHING to do with my excellent language skills, and is pretty much plumb-dumb luck



(↑)

Proof Positive ~ Previous Holiday Tree-Toss Posts by Author:

Holiday Tree Toss - Episode 1: About-Town Trees
Holiday Tree Toss - Episode 2: Froggy-Pond Trees
Holiday Tree Toss - Episode 3: An Alien Plot ?
Holiday Tree Toss - Episode 4: Deep Tree Poetry
Holiday Tree Toss - Episode 5.1: Tree Toss November 2017
Holiday Tree Toss - Episode 5.2: The Gift





Please UPVOTE, COMMENT and FOLLOW if you enjoy my works.

And go to @ddschteinn -- There's a whole lot more...

Posted: 02/07/2018 @ 13:30



P1050887-1 48kb no name.jpg


Excerpts From Late-Night Conversations With A Mechanical Cat

Fact Number 31

DONE Ocrdu Christmas Tree Toss CATS SURPASSING DOGS.PNG

Sort:  

Good drawing with creative idea! It's so sad to see the Christmas tree like this again and again, not just in your area, but in Netherlands, too!

Wonderful idea for the challenge. I think I cannot find Christmas tree around my area. In Thailand, we usually use plastic Christmas trees for decoration and we normally keep them in stocks for the next and next Christmas.

Thank you, so glad you enjoyed the worldwide toss, even if it is a bit sad ( :
If you DO find a plastic tree, that would be quite a find for me to write about. I DREAM of finding one of those on my 'rounds' of the city on my bike. What a post THAT would make. Make sure you take a photo, if you DO see one. I will make you famous (((( ::::
Not likely though...as you say, everyone keeps them for the next year in storage. Have a nice night, and don't stay up TOO late, GFF.

You're welcome! I promise I'll certainly take a photo of the plastic tree for you if I see one! Ha ha! I want to be a famous woman..... ;)))

Thanks for reminding me ....but it's TOO late now.... As you know well, there are a lot of things to do and many posts to read...very fun! When we are happy, the times usually goes very fast, right?!

Have a nice weekend, GFF! ;D

many years ago our Christmas tradition was to use a special tree called espinillo, we used this for its shape, we had a Christmas tradition, the trees had a particularity were filled with seasonal fruits
later we became aware of the felling of the trees and many years ago we used the traditional plastic trees, for that reason in my land there are no other trees.
exceelnte post dear friend @ddschteinn, I wish you a wonderful afternoon

Thanks so much for the nice reply. I can only give credit to @ocrdu...he is my inspiration ( :
Very interesting story about your tees and decorating. And sad they are not around anymore in numbers. I like the idea of fake ones. I have a couple of silver metal ones from the 50's, with the rotating light. What fun!
Have a nice night, my friend.

Truly this post sums up not just the power and potential of Steemit, but rather the immense reach of the interwebs as a whole! Just think, a phenomenon with such humble beginnings is taking on world wide fame! What is next...Russia, Australia??

I'm going to need a bigger cannon.
On a semi-serious note, it is truly amazing how far out and about this site has gone, amazing indeed. And here we are, at the edge of it all. Well, almost, since last October and January at least. Where will it all go from here? Hoping for the moon..

Lol the Late Christmas tree gift

The gift that keeps on giving. Thanks, glad you stopped in to view and comment.

That's funny! Sometimes I go fishing. I have lost many a lure to piles of old Christmas trees wired together, and sunk with weights, to improve the fish habitat. And to take my lures... A merry old Christmas to you! :D

Maybe those pesky trees are all part of a special system put in place to get lures and resell them? Then again, maybe they really are for fish habitat. My guess is number two. Thanks for stopping in and viewing the latest finds. Stay tuned, THERE'S ALWAYS MORE ( :

Nice post!!! I toss our Christmas tree each year, but in the farthest part of our backyard in an area where I dump other compostables. I can often see the skeleton of the previous year's tree, but not much farther back than that. They have a way of becoming quickly reclaimed by Mother Nature.

Thanks, so glad you enjoyed the post. A true inspiration from @ocrdu.
I like that you compost yours each year. (And don't just toss them around in town either ( : Back to whenst they came once more.
They do disappear fast. I have a nice skeleton one I want to put up somewhere as a decor item. Wonder how long it will last?

no christmas trees left here / geen kerstbomen meer hier in de buurt :)

You just have to look around harder ( :
So I butchered that saying up pretty good there, it looks to me. Sorry, but I did what the translator says. Though discussing language with another of your fellow countrymen, it sounds like there are many ways to say things. All part of intent and tense and things I probably don't even understand. Maybe I should stick to English...but that's not as fun. Thanks for the info too.

That tree tossed half way across the world was a good toss! Nice picture of it as well. :P

I can tell you one thing, I will be looking for tossed Christmas trees when we hike this summer.

Thanks, that is a hefty tree I found. Not sure my little canon would get it all the way to Holland no matter what. It was fun to draw, with my very meager artistic talents. I'll be looking forward to at least a photo, if not a post about your tree finds. They're EVERYWHERE.

:) nice work again my dear friend.
I congratulate and wish you good days :)

Thank you, I appreciate the kind words, and am glad you enjoyed the newest tree find. Time to look in your corner of the world? Good luck, and I wish you good days as well.

Well, the hurricanes tossed all the trees for us so... 😂

That is so true, and sad. And would make it very hard to find anything, let alone another tree. I'm hoping a good part of your life is back to some semblance of normal, and ALL the way there, WAY WAY before next Christmas. (Don't get me started on that whole political bailiwick.)

Oooh please don't! Politics sucks! The trees are almost like nothing happened 4 months later. Our ecosystem is really good when it comes to regeneration. An entire mountain completely destroyed takes only 6 months to be fully recovered, full of big trees like if nothing happened. Its always like this. So if this year we don't get hit by another hurricane we can celebrate the tree toss.

Sorry, I usually stay off that subject on here, can be an endless cycle with nothing but arguements. But sometimes it just gets to you. I'm all normal again, so onward with more posts about serious things.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66384.36
ETH 3272.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27