Travel Tunes Tuesday 8.0

in #traveltunes6 years ago

It's time for another Travel Tunes Tuesday, a project created by @nomadicsoul where we share some of the music we've heard while traveling or that we listen to while traveling. Read the original post here.

Travel Tunes Tuesday ss.jpg

Since my Couchsurfing host in Mexico is SUPER into music and loves to travel, I want to go with some of her recommendations because she knows a lot of international music that I'm not familiar with. For reference, her name is Miriam.

Vamos!

1. Popcorn Andino by Chicha Libre

Chicha Libre is an American band that plays music based on a Peruvian style called Chicha. It kind of combines Cumbia with 60s and 70s style rock n' roll. Chicha is also a corn liquor as well as a music style, so how I interpret that lyrics is that they are calling chicha the Andean popcorn as a play on words. This style of music combines the 2 American continents in a way that makes the Pan-American Highway jealous. And now I could go for some Andean popcorn.

2. Chan Chan by Buena Vista Social Club

Hola de Cuba! The Buena Vista Social Club is a band formed in the 90s to more or less revive the music from the pre-revolutionary times of Cuba. Their style just makes you want to lie in a hammock maybe with a rum on the rocks and a Cuban cigar for good measure. This song's lyrics don't translate to English well because I think they use idioms and possibly words that are more Afrocuban than Spanish. But who cares? The music is awesome. Add this one to your travel playlist.

3. La Medallita by Chico Trujillo

Aaaayyyyyyyy! This is a fun song from a Chilean band. I think it sounds like a children's song since it just sings about a boy that found a medal one day with the image of the Virgin Mary. Miriam just tells me that it's a fun song that's meant to be danced to and the naivety of it is because of the innocence of the people from the rural parts of the country. She also says that Chileans are terrible dancers, haha. I can't confirm or deny that since I've never been, so I'll just take her at her word for now until I can go there myself and dance along with them. So don't worry about looking good while dancing to this song because apparently no one else does. In fact, dance right now. You're already listening to the song so just dance like no one is watching. Do it... Are you dancing yet?

I'd like to thank Miriam for her taste in international music and for helping me discover new music and for helping me with this post.

What are some of your favorite travel tunes?

Sort:  

I only know 2 chileans and one of them can dance! But I don't think it counts because she does middle eastern dance lol. I love the Spanish songs! So how do you like Mexico?! Is it good for digital nomad life (for lack of a better term). What city are you in?

I'm sure you said, but my mind is crazy right now haha

I am in Mexico City. But only for one more day. It is good for digital nomads, because it's cheap, international, has decent WiFi. Other cities are cheaper but you can get by in CDMX for $20 per day if you really want. It's safer than some of the rest of the country too.

Just curious what you thought! I lived in Antigua, Guatemala and it was awesome! But there weren't a lot of digital nomads there like in Chiang Mai or Da Nang for example. I lived in Mexico so long ago that I didn't even have a smart phone yet lol. Where ya headed next?

I'm headed to Seattle for a couple months. Then eastern Europe. What about you?

Sorry @daveonarrival I did not want to copy your "8.0" in my traveltunes post. I see from you 7.0 so wrote a similar title I will change it. Anyway I love the song chan chan, one of my favorite songs from Latin America. The third one is very funny I ve never heard of it before.

It's not a big deal I'm just counting how many travel tunes posts I've written. I'm new to all these songs

it makes sense. For it was my travel tunes post....anyway keep enjoying your music and your trips! :)

Your post was manually selected and voted for by @illuminati-inc with support of @curie and its vote train.

You may consider voting for the Curie witness; All witness payouts are used to fund Curie operations, including but not limited to more than 10 curation teams (vote here).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66396.53
ETH 3174.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15