Travel Tip: Pravcicka Brana, largest natural sandstone arch in Europe

Dear Steemit friends and followers,

Welcome to my Travel Tip series where I promote some of the most beautiful places, interesting landmarks and impressive architectural sites of my homeland, the Czech Republic.

Today, I would like to take you to one of the most beautiful natural landmarks of the country, a legendary rock formation known as Pravcicka Brana.

Pravčická_brána_(Prebischtor)_-_by_Pudelek.jpg
Source: Wikimedia Commons (Creative Commons)

Located 3 km (2 mi) northwest of Hrensko, a little town in Northern Czech Republic, Pravcicka Brana (translated as the Pravcice Gate) is a unique rock formation and the most prominent natural landmark of the Czech Switzerland National Park.

Measuring 26.5 m (87 ft) long, 16 m (52.5 ft) tall and 8 m (26 ft) wide, Pravcicka Brana is the largest natural sandstone arch in the Czech Republic as well as in all Europe.

800px-Pravcicka_brana_2011-08-18.jpg
Source: Wikimedia Commons (Creative Commons)

Known as a place of unusual natural beauty, the arch has been attracting masses of visitors since at least the 18th century but the crowds greatly added to erosion of the landmark. Therefore, since 1982, visitors are not allowed to access the top of the arch.

Yet, recent geological surveys indicate the arch will collapse one day as the natural erosion is still going on so if you want to see this extraordinary creation of the Mother Nature, make sure to visit it as soon as possible.

pravcice-gate-2782219_960_720.jpg
Source: Pixabay (Creative Commons)

Visitors of the landmark can even book a room literally next to it as there was a hotel built into one of the surroundings rocks. Known as Sokoli Hnizdo (the Falcon´s Nest), the hotel can accommodate up to 50 people.


Please feel free to check out some of my other recent posts.

Prague/Czech Republic - Thursday photo challenge - share your personal pictures from your visit to the Czech Republic!

We made it: Steemit in the TOP 1,000 websites in the world!

Quote of the day: Don´t be afraid to fail. Be afraid not to try.

ColorChallenge - Green Thursday - @danpaulson in 7 World's Continents Photo Challenge!


Tomas
CEO & Founder of CGH

logo.jpg


upvote follow resteem.gif


Sort:  

This is such a good quality post!

Thanks a lot for its educational content and the very beautiful photos too.

Namaste :)

Thank you so much! Glad you found it educational and enjoyable. Have a great day and keep on Steeming. Tomas

Wow .. Glad I learnt of a new tourist place today ... The picture of the mountain actually looks cool and I really wish to pay a visit to have a real view of this mountain... @czechglobalhosts Thanks for this informative and educative post @dray91eu

Make it a dream, work hard and make a plan and I am sure you will be able to visit one day. It sure is worth it. Thank you for stopping by. Tomas

Those places are soo amazing and beautiful and the pictures are vivid and breathtaking . I want to go there but prague is first on my bucket list.beautiful city.thanks for sharing.you are amazing.

Prague is definitely a must but it does make it a great place for a day trip so why not join both on the same trip:)

Wow! I've heard about how beautiful is the northern Czech Republic, I have to go there!
Do you know when would it be not that cold for going? ^^'

The best time to visit not only this place but also the rest of the country is Spring and Autumn, the months of May/June and September/October. Those months have a perfect weather which should not be either hot or cold. Have a good one. Tomas

Thanks for the tip Tomas!!
I'll go there then.
Since I'm currently here I want to do some tourism around the country but right now it's freezing 😅😅

Hello @czechglobalhosts. Thanks for such an imaginary tour. I never knew Czechrepublic is so beautiful. It is one of the countries I would like to visit someday. Awesome post.

I hope yo will! It certainly has a lot to offer. Have a good one. Tomas

Thanks Tomas

this place looks very cool and natural, actually I really want to visit the republic of czech ideals I want to meet directly with one of the world's best goalkeeper peter chech, but the money I collect during this time is still not enough to go there, because I am from Indonesia very far away with czech.

With hard work, dedication, passion and big dreams everything is possible! I hope you can make it one day. Tomas

thank you, this really made me inspired and excited

Beautiful scenery in the background. I guess people can't go over the bridge if it's in danger of collapse.

I've always seen this beautiful rock formation Pravcicka Brana in travel sites and it is really an awesome scenery. It gained its popularity because the large, narrow arch was naturally formed from sandstone. One of the best scenic site that you must visit when you are in Czech Republic. The natural landscape is a really a WOW and one of the best.

Your photos are awesome and you have captured its beauty @czechglobalhosts

A beautiful And calm place to spend some quality time with................ ;)
Fill this dash :p

Wow.. I love this, they are very beautiful and interesting photos

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66654.57
ETH 3250.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.33