Home Decor or Topiary Art? That is the Question!

in #travelfeed5 years ago

This cute little house is the Tourist Information Center in the city of Vila do Conde (Portugal) and it's a tourist attraction on its own. The house is covered with plants, all trimmed and arranged in the shape of the house. Only its doors and windows are plant free.

lpkrxbhit9.jpg

The building is located on a big Avenue (Av. 25 de Abril) and its quite easy to find. However, be aware that this is not open 24/7. At the moment, the working hours are from Monday to Friday, from 9h30 to 12h30 and from 14h00 to 18h00.

zwyrt6y808.jpg

If you find the above mentioned shop closed, don't worry and head towards the docks, where you'll find an alternative.


A couple of years ago the city of Vila do Conde has opened a more modern and interactive tourist center, by the river. This one is opened from Monday to Sunday, from 9h30 to 13h00 and from 14h30 to 18h00 and it's also open on holidays.

qeqhru7nky.jpg

The new interactive tourism center is the glass building you see on the right...

krw1jev3o6.jpg

Behind the building, you'll find bikes for rent. I really like this idea but I haven't tried them yet... and I don't know how much they cost per hour.

tipi9z93in.jpg

Vila do Conde is a quiet and beautiful little town and I advice everyone visiting Porto to take a Metro and pay it a visit. You can rent a bike, if you wish... but the city is not that big. You can walk around and see everything in a day or two.


If you liked this post, don't be afraid to comment.


CameraCanon IXUS 210
LocationVila do Conde - Portugal
Edited with GIMP

2e4z02s5fy.gif

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

We have had those kinda bikes for rent here in Antwerp too and they are used a lot :)

These are recent, in Portugal. It's about time, though! 😎

Cycle idea is kinda new in Ukraine , but here there are some places where this type of cycle available for rent. Also Glass building idea is pretty cool, we architects are love to design Glass houses... But that building with greenery plants , we call it jungle house.. LOlll just for fun..

Welcome to the Jungle, then! 🙃

That house looks awesome !! Someone really likes nature there ^^ .. the bicycles remind me a bit if the travwl stations in the netherlands .. only that they prefer yellow .. but that bright shiny blue is definitly more happy ;)

Yes, I think that's where the inspiration for the program came from. I'm glad you've stopped by! Thanks for your comment! 😃

Since I couldn't follow your advice last month to visit Vila do Conde, with your post I can see what I missed. Next time :-)

So, what was the best thing you saw, in Porto?

Very good steet art and the exhibition of Joana Vasconcelos at the Fundação de Serralves. Nice architecture but the garden was closed for a festival, too bad... I really have to go back.

I am in the process of building my own house. I will really consider a decoration <3 I love that art, my vote and reesteem

Thanks a lot! I'm glad this gave you a few ideas! 😊

Умеешь ты находить удивительные места для фото.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Спасибо большое за твою комментарию! 😉

Ждём новых интересных мест!

Posted using Partiko iOS

interesting , yesterday i was talking with my friend about such plants for covering walls , i like them

I don't know how long it takes to get to this level... Thanks for your visit, Adele!

What a lovely building! I quess it is not possible to miss out on this one :)

Ahah. If you're distracted, you'll easily miss it. It's quite small. 😊

hey friend have you given yourself to gardening?

Nope. I'm just a tourist! 😃

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36