You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A day at the museum: Walking down the history lane and rediscovering our own fine arts

in #travelfeed5 years ago (edited)

It was fun reading this post @macoolette, as I imagined what a different experience it was for an "IT person," who doesn't have any "appreciation" for fine art ... 😉 Looks like you did fine to me! (But ... I suppose I am sort of an 'IT person' too, so what do I know ... 😏)

Seriuosly, since I have no artistic talent to speak of, I admire it in others. The #1 thing which always strikes me looking at paintings is how much time they must take. And the "eye" the artist must have to get the details right. Truly a talent!

I particularly like stain glass art, for some reason. It adds a special element to have light shine through it. And speaking of time. How much longer does it take to get glass colored correctly vs. dipping your paint brush in some paint? 😯

Thanks for this tour. I hope it will be a special memory for you and your friend!

Sort:  

Yay, Thanks for your compliments. I guess I have to celebrate doing good with these because I was trying so hard! 😊 Indeed, an artist's patience is admirable. I may never have their attention to details but I know how to appreciate obvious arts, not like that Sunday at the park which I have to figure what it has. 😃

I wonder about stained glass like that triptych. The caption says oil on glass and I thought, how on earth did oil stuck on glasses without dripping off? 😏

I'll try again for maybe a part 2 post with at least a few more from my hundreds of photos...

By the way, I saw your call-out for the pifc project. I am yet to get into that as I thought I have a mouthful to say. 😉

P.S. Totally unrelated, but was thinking of you and your recycle post a few days ago. We were reading about how more and more of the recycling efforts here in some American cities are being shut down. Too expensive ... 😏

Posted using Partiko Android

That's a sad news. I don't really think it's expensive but it is just their reason to minimize cost and keep raking income instead. I don't know... I'm just not convinced about the cost reason.

As you and I briefly covered in our original exchange on your post @macoolette, there is a lot to the underlying question of how best to handle this issue.

What I did not put into this quick comment was an important additional factor, explaining the "too expensive" portion. That was reference to the overall quality of the "finished product" of producers being inferior to that of "finished product" being produced from "virgin" materials vs. recycled materials ...

I know a little about this from my "old life" and calling on one of our customers. They recycled paper waste into newsprint and similar products. It was well established (i.e. no conspiracy, just irrefutable physical science ...) the resulting product was inferior to product made from "virgin" timber sources. Why?

The resulting natural fibers were not as long, due to degradation through the recycling processes ... And the more "loops" through recycling, the greater the degradation ...

So ... The "pesky" bottom line - this product could not be sold for as much. The only question then was whether there was a market for it ...

Let's see. Did I mention complicated? 😉

Certainly my pleasure @macoolette, as I know you put a lot of work into a post like this. I know what it takes, just to get the pictures embedded. You also did a nice job of letting us "see through your eyes" in your descriptions with the pictures.

"The caption says oil on glass and I thought, how on earth did oil stuck on glasses without dripping off?"

Yes, interesting question. From somewhere else, I had the impression the glass itself was colored, but I must have misunderstood. If simply oil, then ... how does it retain its effect on the glass? I'll look forward to your research paper on the answer ... 😉

I hope to catch Part 2 when it comes out! 🤗

Ah, hahaha! Now I have an assignment about the colored glass. Maybe I'll include an answer on my part two post. Let's see... 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63776.94
ETH 2629.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84