If You Eat Goat Brain, Does It Make You Smarter Or Dumber?

in #travelfeed6 years ago (edited)

This is just one of life's important questions that you have to ponder when you go to eat with a Kenyadian (Kenya/Canadian) in Hanoi.

We never fully decided on the answer...so feel free to weigh in and let us know.

I had the best day ever seeing @oneminja again after not seeing him since Chiang Mai, where the Thai word for pumpkin brought us together (hint: I'm guessing it's spelled phuc ton but it sounds like a cussword so it's funny to say).

We didn't have any phuc ton to eat here in Hanoi, but we did eat a phuc ton!

He's been here a lot longer than me, so he's had time to figure out Hanoi, which is a city that will overhwelm you when you first arrive and leave you in a constant state of mood swings trying to decide whether you love it or hate it (the past few days it's been heavy on the love side).

Because he's a pro at Hanoi now, we were able to find some amazing food to eat: Goat bones and Mi Xao Bo (beef noodles with tons of veggies with a side of yumsauce).

Goat Make Bamboo Shoots

Well, we couldn't read the menu, so we had to use google translate. According to google, his meal was techincally called "Goat Make Bamboo Shoots."

I'm just going to call it Goat Bone Soup for short, because that's basically what it was.
And @oneminja was REALLY excited about it:

I was kind of excited about NOT eating bones.

Definitely Try This Mi Xao Bo If You Come To Vietnam

We got deez nuts for free:

After eating, we waddled down West Lake and popped in the best coffee shop ever. Seriously, it's dope on a stick.

Ok... fine.
Only I waddled.

He walked like a normal human being who actually had some semblance of self control not to eat the same amount of food that's equivalent to his bodyweight).

Waddled By This Dragon. Pretty Sure He Was Judging Me

Waddled By This Fence. You guys, It's Just A Fence. Fences Don't Judge People

Here's the coffee shop where I continued with my glutton-sloth-like tendencies and ordered an AMAZING iced coconut coffee:

And then we fought about who was more sophisticated with our pinkies AND our spoons sticking out of our drinks?

I don't know, looks pretty legimitately sophisticated to me:

This, though? Not so much (why is this happening?? lol please remind me what's going on in this photo @oneminja):

After that, it was high time I get my butt into gear and sing the song "Band Of Gold" in my best grandma-imitation voice possible, for the karaoke challenge by @goldmatters.

Warning: Mute The Part Where We Sing. Grandma Voice Makes For Extra Off-Keyness

We considered singing in sign language, for the benefit of your ear's well-being, but we decided we don't actually care about your ears that much. So, horrible grandma voices won out in the end.

Thanks @oneminja for doing this with me...it made it 10x more fun than just being awkward all by myself (which is what usually happens)!

And thanks @goldmatters for initiating the challenge...I ended up having the funniest night because of you!! Awesome way to promote Mene, which sells investment jewelry. It's basically like making an investment that also looks good on you.

Why wouldn't you want to invest in something like that and kill 2 birds with 1 stone?

Hope you kinda sorta enjoy this video (Click it. Click it now! Even if it's grainy-sauce):

Sneak preview excerpt from the video:

"What goes good with black and white? Gold."

Love, @nomadicsoul (I'm sure @oneminja says hi, too)

Sort:  

Deez nutz up in yo blockchain.
It should be said, we didn't know this song. In fact, we still don't know it.
And we weren't drunk enough.

Hahaha I don't know about you... But I was drunk on coconut iced coffee...

Oh god your humor gets me every time !

Hanoi has been truly fun with both of yah in it? :) ahahhaaha pretty awfully nice singing too! It must be fun hanging out with you both!

I think it's fun. Hopefully I get to hang out with you someday, too! Hahaha our singing is only nice if you cover your ears

Have my sister connected to you to ask about the hostel, Michell?

I'm not sure!! A lot of people are messaging me on facebook and I'm losing track! I got overwhelmed haha

haha. I've sent her your facebook acc, if u come over there, just talk to her that "you are my friend" :)

Funny cooperation in singing and sense of humor ehehehehe Great I had fun! I taste that Mi Xao Bo prepared by my Vietnamese flatmate when I lived in Sydney it was tasty!

I already want to eat more! Haha glad you enjoyed the horrible video and lived to tell about it!

We took a bike tour the entire lake - it was so hot!! That gave us the excuse to stop at every second coffee shop we've seen to get a coconut coffee! We finished the route exhausted and wired.

Hahaha crazy to be both at once, right? I'm gonna do the bike thing as soon as I find my debit card. What part of town did you stay in?

Breaking News: A huge fun spike appeared on the richter scale in a random area of Hanoi today.

You guys are awesome. I love the energy and explorative fun y'all shared here :)

hahahaha omg that's great. In a random area of Hanoi. It was random. I never know where I am in Hanoi. You're awesome!

Congratulations @nomadicsoul! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=nomadicsoul
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=if-you-eat-goat-brain-does-it-make-you-smarter-or-dumber


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Catch up time for me.

Does @omeminja has a spring on his neck? The way he oscillates it is wonderful. Lol.

who needs a man when you can have a bag of gold?

😀😁😀. Many do

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01