Week 3 - Epic Roadtrip Fail 🙅‍♀️

in #travelfeed6 years ago

P6197065-stop-sign-death-valley-1680.jpg

Where do I start? This is seriously getting comical. I've had my fair share of tears, laughter and tantrums this week.

Ok here goes…

After saying goodbye to our friends in Canmore, we headed straight for Calgary. It was a quick stop to collect a couple of guitars that Ben had stored there. From there, we decided to drive until we didn't want to drive anymore. The plan was to get to America as quickly as possible.

Along the way, Ben noticed that the fuel gauge was dropping a lot quicker than expected. Hill after hill, mountain after mountain was chewing through our gas. Because we hadn't driven very far on our roadtrip yet, we were unsure exactly how fuel efficient the motorhome was. We knew it was a gas guzzler, but after some quick sums, we figured out that we were only getting 1.8kms per litre of propane.

Ummm...what?

And so there we were, 1 day after we had left the comforts of Canmore, we found ourselves contemplating turning around and giving up on our American roadtrip dream.

We actually found a really nice rest stop right on Crowsnest Lake to spend the night. The stars out there were amazing and we saw quite a few shooting stars too. We could see so much of the sky from the comfort of our beds.

In the morning, the three of us made the decision to turn around and go back to Canmore. We simply could not afford to go any further.

Now I'm not proud of what I'm about to tell you but it happened so here it is. I struggle a fair bit when it comes to rude people. They have a far greater impact on me than I'd like. We stopped in at a gas station to fill up the tank. The guy there was extremely rude and couldn't even tell us how much the propane cost. He told us to go ask the chick inside if we cared so much. With a 250 litre tank, we care mate. So Ben went inside while I waited in the car. Meanwhile the gas guy was standing around in his boys club having a whinge about the way I had parked up at the pump. I literally had no other options. The longer it went on, the angrier I got. Eventually something inside of me snapped. I started the engine, gassed it and chucked a very aggressive u-turn, without even considering the length of our vehicle. The back of our motorhome slammed into the protective barriers, twisting our bumper and narrowly missing the propane tank on the back. No doubt this made his day too.

Needless to say, my actions upset me and giving him a piece of my mind was not a viable option at this stage. I was so mad that my whole body was shaking. I'm actually surprised I didn't spontaneously combust. I'm still learning how to be like a duck. On the other hand, the look on Ben's face was priceless! Later he told me that he loves that I can express my emotions so strongly. So instead of feeling bad about my craziness, I'm just going to own it.

All I can think is that this trip just wasn't meant to be. We have come across roadblock after roadblock these last couple of months. With all the hassles at the mechanic, the problems with the hot water, the toilet, the wastewater, the propane, the leaks in the roof, the windows and guess what, now the fridge has just fucked itself!

We've since accepted our fate, but it is a shame that we couldn't show Ben's brother all we wanted to while he was visiting. Sure makes for a funny story though.

Oh well..back to the Rockies we go!

JessicaOutside-logo-black.png

Thanks for reading, If you like my content, please resteem, upvote and comment.

All content is my own unless otherwise stated.

Sort:  

Lol. How much was the propane in the end?

Haha...we never filled up! No one could tell us the price. Luckily we had enough to make it to another station.

That's sad to hear Jessica, but it's sure one hell of a story to tell.

I can't help it, on my trips so many crazy things happen that I've learned to see positivity even in complete misery. Don't waste your energy with rude people, they don't deserve your time.

The worst situations usually turn out to be the funniest/most memorable ones. I think the pressure was on having Bens brother here. We really wanted to show him a good time. But, we've decided it was just a trip to hang out, not so much to explore. Trying to stay on the positive side of things 😀 And I agree...that guy got way too much of my time

Oh dear!!! There's nothing worse.than a disastrous exit.. like slamming the door and have it rebound in your face!!! You must have been fuming and embarrassed at the same time.

Sorry to hear your trip started badly and here's to things getting sorted. There's always ups after downs... or, contrarily, you are just being redirected for a reason xxx

Haha totally. Fuming and embarrassed sums it up perfectly. I made quite the scene.

And thank you. Definitely being redirected I believe 💙

Hey there, very sad to read that things have gone south and that you will not be able to complete the trip 😞
I wish your next trip to be less eventful with anything related to the car! Also maybe let Ben handle the driving around gas stations 😅
Have some rest and a nice weekend!

Haha...deal! No more gas stations for me 😁

And thank you. I hope you also have a pleasant weekend!

Sorry to hear that. Sounds like a rough week :(

It's been a cracker. Wine in hand now though👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01