My first meditation class :to see things as it is

in #travelfeed5 years ago

Still on medical leave ,I gave in to an instant invitation to attend a meditation class in a Buddhist shrine here in Cebu. The moon was in its full phase and I need a way to clear out my worries and boost my immunity so with no second thoughts I go.
IMG_20190321_192303.jpg
Because we arrive two hours early we had the chance to sit still and gaze at the moon illuminating beautifully against a starless night. I wish then and there I and better camera.

After some short introduction we start with 25minutes walking meditation followed by a sitting meditation for the same duration. We had been briefed to sit cross legged, plan open in triangular position thumbs meeting up one palm below the other and to breath through our diaphragm with tips of tongue at the frontal teeth. It was an extraordinary experience. IMG20190321192217.jpg
I come across those delicately beautiful Zep gardens but only a couple of years was I introduced to Zen Buddhism in Chu Un Temple located at 246 V. Rama Avenue Cebu City. In case you missed that I wrote about the Chinese New Year ushering the year of the dog with fellow Steemian.
Because the meditation was sacred and the theologian discussion that follows was also no pictures to share sadly. Imagine the participants sitting in circle cross legged under the sky canopy and you'll surely imagine how blessed I felt then. IMG_20190321_192554.jpg

I learned it's a weekly event every Thursday at 8pm in this temple. Though the full lotus position was challenging and the choir practise on another building to disway from overall I left the event feeling renewed. So highly commendable especially that a traditional tea ceremony awaits you after the meditation and if you wish a theology class.

I must say I agree with the leader that if we only see things as they are we can go through life with clarity and lesser stress. I must admit when I had my heartbroken several years ago it was the Buddhist videos online that helped me through by letting go without suffering. Sure it was a tough process but definitely worth itIMG_20190321_180646.jpg

The temple is not as elaborate as the Taoist but it has its own charm. Hence pictures we took to remember this date.The meditation master was right only when we stop worrying if the past that's over and done with and the future that's yet to come can we truly enjoy the now.IMG_20190321_180632.jpg

If one is looking for a free thing to do while in the bustling metropolitan I would recommend checking this place and it's calendar of activities. I heard they also offer an array of martial arts as well as dance and singing class to those interested.

I have yet to rearrange my daily schedule to take time to do some deep breathing and mind mastery we call as meditation. Last night true to what my teacher claimed I felt a comforting warmth in me. I feel my body relaxed then had a great sleep after. Since the workings of the human body is yet unknown I am optimistic that such an activity in incorporated in my daily schedule would increase my longevity and allow me to attain better results in my endeavours.

Till next post,
AynIMG_20190220_124813.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13