My Trip to Ambleside in the Lake District, UK

in #travelfeed5 years ago (edited)

Last September I visited Ambleside in the Lake District (UK). I've never been before but everyone told me how beautiful it is. It didn't disappoint me and the weather was very kind to us.

It's a long time since I went camping. My friend has just bought a new campervan so I took the plunge and went camping. It has certainly changed since I last went in my youth. I could get used to it!

We decided to take a boat ride on Lake Windermere. I enjoyed it but found it a bit nerve racking when the bigger boats went by. Even though they didn't get too close there was a ripple effect and it rocked the boat. As a non-swimmer it was a bit unsettling! Anyway, I survived to tell the tale and so did the pooch.

Afterwards, we had a walk around Borrans Park. Spotted a stone marking 'Arthur Ransome's North Pole Stood Here' from Swallows and Amazons.

There was also a plaque at the bottom of the cherry tree commemorating the victims of the bombing of Hiroshima in 1945.

The Drifters song 'Under the Boardwalk' sprang to mind when I took this photograph.

The pooch had a little swim in the lake. Try and keep a labrador out of the water! The park wasn't very big but very pleasant and had a few interesting things in it. All in all we had a lovely, relaxing time in Ambleside and I'd definitely go again.

All photos by @ellenripley - Julie Smitham. All rights reserved.

Sort:  

This post has been voted on by @acropolis travels and culture in collaboration with the project @templo.

videotogif_2019.02.15_20.29.34.gif

Congratulations @ellenripley! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Hi @ellenripley,
Thank you for participating in the #travelfeed curated tag. To maintain a level of quality on the project we have certain criteria that must be met for participation. Please review the following: https://travelfeed.io/@travelfeed/how-to-participate-use-travelfeed-in-your-posts
We require at least 250 words.
Thank you very much for your interest and we hope to read some great travel articles from you soon!
If you believe that you have received this comment by mistake or have updated your post to fit our criteria, please reply to this comment with !tfreview. For further questions, please contact us on the TravelFeed Discord.
Regards, @travelfeed

Updated thank you. !tfreview

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14