FUNDRAISING!!! My favorite place in the Netherlands

in #travelfeed6 years ago (edited)

Earlier today I have read a post from our fellow Steemian Cecicastor about the situation in Nicaragua. I'm not going to tag her for her safety, but you can head to her profile to learn more. It's becoming a very dangerous and violent place and she is stuck there with her family. They do not have the opportunity to leave the country but even if they would they don't have enough funds at the moment.

I believe that this is a great opportunity for us to work as a community and support people who need it the most. I will transfer all SBD and Steem that will be paid out for this post to her directly.

PLEASE upvote and resteem it to get more visibility and more funds 😊

DSC_0129.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/10 35 mm

If I'm working all day on my computer I like to go for a long walk in the evening to recharge my batteries. As we are still in the Netherlands we decided to go to The Loonse and Drunense Duinen. This area has a special place in my heart and as it's only 20 minutes drive from our place it was the winner for tonight.

Our walk starts in a forest. Being in a forest is so soothing for my soul. I love walking around and getting 'lost'.

DSC_0001.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/5 18 mm

It takes us about 10 minutes to get to the first sandy 'beach'.

DSC_0005.jpg
ISO 100 1/125 sec. f/16 18 mm

Here we go! We are nowhere close to the sea - this area is in the south of the Netherlands.

DSC_0016.jpg
ISO 100 1/200 sec. f/13 18 mm

Some places look very wild..

DSC_0025.jpg
ISO 100 1/200 sec. f/8 18 mm

DSC_0026.jpg
ISO 100 1/200 sec. f/13 18 mm

Are you asking why this place is special to me? When I was a child we never went camping with my parents. My husband took me here many years ago for my first camping experience 😊 It was an amazing adventure and I'm happy anytime we can come here again!

Let me tell you a bit more about The Loonse en Drunense Duinen. It is a national park located between Tilburg, Waalwijk and 's-Hertogenbosch.

The main features are sandy 'beaches' and forests. This 'desert' is full of life. You can see different plants and various types of grass. It's a very windy area and the sand is constantly moving so you can see some changes in the landscape if you haven't been there for a while.

The origins of this national monument date back to the ice age. There was no ice in the Netherlands but it was so cold that the plants couldn't grow. So this was a free area and due to the strong wind it was covered by sand coming from the sea. The plants and trees started to grow again after it became warmer. A few hundreds years ago people needed a lot of wood for their houses so they chopped the trees. As there were again no trees the sand appeared back on the surface. Well, it was annoying for people living in nearby villages and they started to plant new trees. These new forest areas are still there. They form some kind of a circle so that the sand stays inside and don't get to the villages.

DSC_0036.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/13 18 mm

The grass is very sharp. Be careful as it can hurt your feet if you walk barefoot.

DSC_0047.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/11 18 mm

Part of the new forest.

DSC_0052.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/8 21 mm

It really looks like a desert but believe me I'm still in the Netherlands! 😊

DSC_0058.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/10 26 mm

There was no rain for a few weeks so the grass dried up already.

DSC_0063.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/10 18 mm

But not all places are like this. There is underground water too so there are spots with green grass.

DSC_0070.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/10 18 mm

These are my footprints.

DSC_0077.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/10 18 mm

A lonely tree in the middle of dunes.

DSC_0081.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/9 20 mm

It was 8 PM and the sun was going down so the shades were long.

DSC_0090.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/8 18 mm

So beautiful that I didn't even want to walk there.

DSC_0095.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/9 18 mm

But I'm sure my footprints are covered by sand already.

DSC_0096.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/9 18 mm

While walking back to the car we passed by another lonely tree..

DSC_0099.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/8 18 mm

Various types of grass and bushes.

DSC_0114.jpg
ISO 100 1/320 sec. f/10 18 mm

We walked almost 8 km in the sand. I must say this was tougher than my workouts in the gym! 😊

My hair and eyes are full with sand, my clothes are dirty and I'm exhausted but still happy! I've spend a lovely evening with my husband and my father in law. Now it's time to go back and drink some tea as the wind was a bit chilly.

Don't forget about my fundraising initiative and show Cecicastor some love!

All pictures are taken by my Nikon D3200 AF-S NIKKOR 18-55 mm 1:3.5-5.6 G II.

Thank you for reading!

Cheers,
Martina

!steemitworldmap 51.652401 lat 5.127154 long My favorite place in the Netherlands d3scr

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-17T20:57:30
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 117.00/200.00
Total Photos: 18
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.49 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I think this is a very nice thing you are doing! Great job here @delishtreats ;)

Thank you Dave :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=delishtreats
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=fundraising-my-favorite-place-in-the-netherlands


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

such a beautiful nature) it can be admire endlessly)

Congratulations @delishtreats! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

So sad to hear about Nicaragua. A friend of mine who also lived in Cambodia just flew to Columbia to go save her family in Venezuela Venezuela. To all managed to get into Columbia, but her dad remained to watch over their house. Let's hope they all stay safe. Beautiful pics. Doesn't look like the Netherlands indeed.

I've heard that there were issues in Venezuela too. It makes me sad to see what people can do to each other. I really hope her family will stay safe, especially her dad as he stayed there.

Thank you for stopping by!

Oh yes, I was very surprised when I came there for the first time :)

Beautiful pictures!! Thanks for your support for cecicastor too. I'm ashamed to say that I didn't learn about what was going on with her until I saw this post. I've been scrolling over the Nicaraguan stuff this whole time but not clicking on it, seeing there was a crisis, but not realizing she and her family were actually there taking their own photos and reporting first hand...very scary.

Thank you for stopping by! I like to help as much as I can :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by wanderlass from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I never knew such a place exists in Netherlands. It;s seems so mysterious, almost like an end of the world, if there was one, lol. Your photography is beautiful as usual and I really enjoyed reading about your experience.

Exactly! It feels like the end of the world 😊

Thank you for stopping by dear Lena and also for your lovely words! ❤

Always a pleasure Sweetie, you know I love your posts 💖😊💖

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70733.96
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76