A day with us in AMSTERDAM!

in #travelfeed6 years ago (edited)

What comes to your mind when you think about Amsterdam? Let me guess - party, red light district and coffee shops, right?

We visit our family in the Netherlands every two months. In the past we were coming here at least once a month. Even though I have spent so much time here I only knew Amsterdam as a party city. We would arrive there around 11 PM and leave the city right after the party.

Last weekend we were meeting our Slovak friend who came back from the US to Europe after six years. We didn't see him from the time he left and we were very excited to finally spend some time together. He decided to move to Amsterdam so we visited him there. This was a great opportunity to get to know the city a little better and see what it has to offer!

DSC_0102.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/9 18 mm

Today I will show you this party city in a different light! And there might be a surprise (personal) photo at the end of this post, so keep reading 😊

Amsterdam is a VERY green city. There are many big parks with people running, biking, playing with their kids or just sitting and enjoying the atmosphere. It was a great sunny day so we went for a walk in Beatrixpark.

DSC_0049.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/10 18 mm

Beatrixpark is one of the oldest modern parks in Amsterdam. It is located in the south of the city and it was opened in 1938. I was surprised by its size. Actually it is supposed to be one of the smaller parks so I didn't expect it to be so big. It's hidden behind the new administration buildings and I can only guess the size of other parks if this one is considered to be small.

There are different parts of the park. This area is called 'ereplateu'. It's where the winning plants from Floriade exhibition in 1972 were placed. The trees are very big and provide refreshing shade during hot days. For those who want to sunbathe and get some tan there is a big area behind the trees used for this purpose.

DSC_0057.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/8 18 mm

While we were walking around the park I have spotted this tree with yellow flowers. It's a pity there was no sign showing its name.

DSC_0062.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/10 18 mm

There are a few statues in the park. This one is my favorite. It's called 'Playing dog' and it was designed by Elena Wisse-Engelsen.

DSC_0064.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/10 24 mm

If you don't like sitting on the ground you can take a seat on one of many benches placed in the park. I only saw people sitting on the ground so I guess this is the preferred option.

DSC_0072.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/10 24 mm

We don't have much time now as we promised my in laws to be back for dinner so we have to leave this green spot if we want to see a bit of the city as well.

DSC_0075.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/10 18 mm

On the way to the car we passed this bridge with very nice flower decoration.

DSC_0079.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/10 18 mm

We were waiting for a few minutes for the best shot as there were so many boats passing by. At the end I managed to take a shot with one boat 'hidden' behind the flowers 😊

DSC_0096.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/10 18 mm

Water, bikes, boats - this is Amsterdam!

DSC_0104.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/10 18 mm

Amsterdam is well knows for its canals (grachten). In total there are more than 100 km of canals in the city. Three main canals form kind of concentric belts around the city, known as the Grachtengordel. You can see it on the map too. These three canals areHerengracht, Prinsengracht and Keizersgracht. They were created in the 17th century during the Dutch Golden Age.

All of the houses that you can see below have a hook attached above the window on the top floor. These hooks were used to get the packages from boats in the past.

DSC_0107.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/9 18 mm

On the way to the grachtengordel you will see many other canals. This one is called Nieuwe Prinsengracht.

Many people decide to live on the river and this is why you will find a lot of houseboats around. They can vary from very simple old houseboats to new and trendy apartments on the water.

DSC_0113.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/9 18 mm

You can't avoid water in Amsterdam. It's really everywhere. It was a rather quiet day on the streets of the city but it was definitely not quiet on the water. There were so many different boats with tourists cruising around.

DSC_0118.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/10 20 mm

This summer is exceptionally hot in the Netherlands. For a few weeks already the temperature goes easily up to 30 degrees which is very unusual. The summer here is usually milder with more rain and wind so nowadays you don't only see tourists enjoying boat rides but also locals on the smaller boats.

DSC_0123.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/11 18 mm

There are many small narrow houses in the city center simply because there was not too much space for buildings. But this house got me! You can see how small it is if you compare it with the bike parked in front of it. I guess now it is used as a part of the house next door but in the past it was used like a standard house as there was a door that is now walled up.

DSC_0126.jpg
ISO 100 1/160 sec. f/8 18 mm

Now we are coming to the heart of Amsterdam - small canals, old bridges, old bikes, boats and narrow houses.

DSC_0131.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/9 18 mm

Look at the boat traffic! I wonder if you still enjoy being on the water when there are so many other boats around..

DSC_0135.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/9 18 mm

More boats are coming from the other side..

DSC_0137.jpg
ISO 100 1/250 sec. f/9 18 mm

Now is the time to get back to the car as it takes us around one hour to drive back and we don't want to miss our delicious homemade Indonesian dinner! I will prepare a post about my mother-in-law cooking soon as just thinking about her food makes my mouth water 😊

The main reason why we come to the Netherlands is of course our family. Our niece is 8 months old and we try to visit her and her parents as much as we can.

Here are a couple of personal photos if you're still reading until here 😊

Chloe 2.jpg

Me and my husband with our cutie pie waving HI to you 😊

Chloe 3.jpg

If you like my article feel free to upvote/resteem it or follow me.

All pictures (besides the last two) are taken by my Nikon D3200 AF-S NIKKOR 18-55 mm 1:3.5-5.6 G II.

Thank you for reading!

Cheers,
Martina

!steemitworldmap 52.353090 lat 4.873311 long A day with us in Amsterdam d3scr

Sort:  

Wow this is a stunning post for someone who said she didn’t have much time in Amsterdam. It’s sensational!!!! I love all the photos, and am suitably envious😍 Everything is just so beautiful the greenthewater thebuildings and you and your family must have had the biggest smiles of anyone there!! Thanks Martina what an utter delight. A delish treat ❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️Resteemed❤️

Hahaha, I really didn't have much time. We spent there around 3 hours in total. My husband knows the place so it was really easy 😊

Aaawwwww, thank you for your sweet words! It feels so amazing to have you as a supporter! ❤

We love our niece! She makes us happy so we can't hide our smiles 😉

Amsterdam looks like another beautiful place to visit! I'm sure it would be great to see it by boat. You definitely got my heart with the picture of your little niece, though! My niece is 2 1/2 now and it has been the biggest joy of my life to watch her grow up. Being an auntie is a wonderful experience. I'm sure you enjoy every moment with her, as well!

Thank you Katie for your kind words!

How cool! 2 1/2 is such a cute age! They understand so much already and you can enjoy playing with them even more. They grow so fast! It's like she was just born recently and now she's almost 9 months!

I like to think that they grow fast and not that we're getting older fast 😂

They grow like weeds! Each age is so much fun in different ways. It is amazing to see how much they learn each week. My niece seemed to take a little while to finally start talking, then all of a sudden she's speaking in full sentences and reasoning things out on her own!

My brother started to talk when he turned 3. He didn't stop talking ever since :D And as you say he also started speaking full sentences.. I think they just feel like well, I have nothing to say so I just don't do it as I will have to speak all my life anyway :D

On a different note, I thought you might be interested in some free crypto. I have 5 invitation and I thought it would be nice to give you one. Here it goes: https://initiativeq.com/invite/Hv7PMgtm7 It's very simple to register :)

Loved this post! It was great to see this side of Amsterdam, my thoughts about the city where quite stereotypical. Actually everything you mentioned in the very beginning popped into my mind. 😅 Amsterdam seems to be such a beautiful city, even though I'd never live in a houseboat, they look so cute! That narrow house (the picture with the bicycle in it) looks so lovely too!

You should write advertisement articles for some sort of traveling website, at least this post made me want to visit Amsterdam really badly! 😊

Thank you Jasmin for stopping by!! I'm so happy that you like Amsterdam now! Well, I was the same with the stereotypical thoughts :D that's why I wanted to show the different side of the city :)

Awwww, you're so kind!! For now I just do it for fun but who knows what will come next :)

Such a beautiful clear sky @delishtreats, glad you're making the most of the beautiful weather.

Thanks for sharing your story and pics !

Thank you for stopping by and for your kind words! ❤

Thanks for showing us what a beautiful, green city Amsterdam is!

My pleasure my dear! 😊 Thank you for stopping by!

Wow very good travel and very beautiful pictures are shown
A nice and beautiful journey is thrilled, but it also relaxes the heart.

Thank you for stopping by and for the nice comment! I'm glad you like my post! 😊

Thank you delishtreats - Beautiful post - one of my favourite cities on planet Earth! The people and vibe of the place is wonderful - a beacon for others to emulate!

Upvoted and resteemed :D

Thank you for stopping by! I love Amsterdam too! And I'm happy I got to know it from a different perspective 😊 Also thank you for upvoting and resteeming! ❤

very good post by you, nice information up voted to you
hi even i write a blog related to travel, if you like my blog,you can follow me to, thank you in advance.

Beautiful photos! I love Amsterdam 💜

Thank you! It's an amazing city! ❤

very nice... I love the water ways! You and your husband look like you go well with that cute little baby! :)

Thank you for stopping by Dave :) Oh yes, we do! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64140.77
ETH 3133.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15