Maastricht Goes Vegan 🍆 | Cook and eat in a SQUAT

in #travel6 years ago

Squat Squat

Believe it or not? Squatting in The Netherlands is LEGAL! I was like 'Whattttt?? (In a positive kinda way)'. In somewhere like Thailand, to live in a squat, I would find it a bit sketchy but there in Europe (At least, where I've been to) it's super livable and cozy..

I learned so much about squatting and all related in Hilversum as one of couchsurfing hosts took me to see 'A squat village'.. Right, it exists! and it's also super interesting once you got a chance to see it with your own eyes 👀 - Been there!

Free spirit house and ideas on 'FOOD'

After travelling a bit in Hilversum, I went to visit Maastricht, the city that connect 3 countries! Whoaaa :) I stayed with a couchsurfing host in a fun/interesting house. By 'Interesting', I mean, 'Very interesting'. The housemates were all friends, free spirits and they loved the earth. 2 of the activities they did constantly about food were..

- Landbouwbelang

They make dinner from dumbster and market food which is thrown away. The dinner is for 100 people and everybody can join in 😉 Its an anti foodwaste movement - Sebastian de Wild, my CS host in Maastricht.-

- Maastricht Goes Vegan

This is a sub-project of Landbouwbelang but works a bit differently. As seen it's 'Vegan'.. A group of people get together weekly to cook and eat vegan food together (Yes, socialize too :P).

Of course, pretty much everyone could join, that's why I could be there! :) and 5 Euros each for the ingredients and stuffs.

Interesting fun fact, they do all this in a squat!


sgp2ivwgh3.jpg

Squat in Maastricht, The Netherlands

This was what it looks like from outside. Typical squat (in my imagination, at least), they got a big object made of all recycling material. for decoration. Not too sure what it was but I supposed it’s a giant scorpion! The building sure was decent sized.Could totally fit hundreds of people.

i4tf6qmr54.jpg

3cn0vkjx4e.jpg

vbuikn4uc8.jpg

The second when we walked in, this was the first image I saw. Beside being a bit dusty, it all looked great! and I loved the fact that it was so spacious.


b4uhbfdmuy.jpg

This was the room I went to check it out. Could totally be seen from the other room so that’s maybe a reason they left the disco light on the whole time. Other than that, I suppose they use it just for storage and maybe hanging out sometimes.



stuivzh0o5.jpg

aoxh4eclib.jpg

After people got all together (Around 6ish), we just got it going by dividing people into 3 groups to cook starter, main and dessert. Each week, they had 3 volunteers to be the ones that lead the cooking of each course.

72jf6nkc7w.jpg

I got into the starter one somehow and we made some type of soup.

kzn9ka1217.jpg

1n1s76yhum.jpg

h88hft96ag.jpg



8mdtnblkyo.jpg
When cooking's all done. People lined up and got their own plates.

3 Course Vegan meal in a squat

- Eggplant (and some other goodness) soup.

Some of the ingredients I remember were eggplants, beans, onions, garlic and etc. (much more LOL) then cooked them all in a big pot and mash it. I honestly didn’t think it’s gonna turn out so good but dude, let me tell you..

udpec5iqfg.jpg

- Stir fry protein dice

Same as other vegan food I have had before, some of the dishes cooked using the protein dice (Some pretend it's meat).

amy5r27b3x.jpg

h8uody4ekf.jpg


- Coconut Banana pudding

Some type of pudding. Well, they tried to make ice-cream but forgot that they would need at least a 4 hours or something.

4vmwt3hgkq.jpg

yslv8t62eo.jpg

Cooking and eating together

One thing I love so much when travelling (or in general, actually), I love cooking and eating together with friends and others. I do!

Totally the proper way to bond!

sjo4eorvic.jpg


Great experienc I would never forget! Like, really! If you someday go visit the 3 country city, Maastricht, check it out! Both Landbouwbelang and Maastricht Goes Vegan


Lots of lots of love,
Mo ❤


We would love to talk to you ! Come say Hi ! on Fundition Discord server | eSteem Discord server

@waybeyondpadthai on Steemit | Fundition Angel
Join a community where you could spread the love**
steemitf.pngtwitterf.pngyoutubef.pngfacebookf.pnginstaf.pngdiscordf.png

Sort:  

Cant't get any cooler than that !!!
turning that place to a resto and putting arts around it is just genius!!! <3

I love the idea as well!!! Would totally love to go back and join in again ❤️

I bet!
I don’t even know how they come up with those ideas 💡
Just amazing!!!

You received a 59.41% upvote from @brotherhood thanks to @mamalikh13!,
join on @brotherhood community on discord channel:https://discord.gg/3HZdaGk and share your post there.

Congratulations! Your high quality-travel content caught our attention and has earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content. Thank you for using #travelfeed

004Artboard_2 (1).jpg

Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

PS: Did you know that you can support TravelFeed by claiming your free Byteball Bytes?

Awww thank you thank you again and again.. ❤️

Great post! I was born in Hilversum! Still in the Netherlands? dont forget to visit Amsterdam

Hey, I am not in the Netherlands. I went last year and just got to write about it just now. Thanks for checking the post out! Oh yes yes, I also went visit Amsterdam but not too sure if it's my cup of tea. I couldn't even take photos without people in it. Hahaa. If I ever come back to the country, I sure will give you a shout! ❤

haha I love Amsterdam, always come back, looking into going somehwere else again right now, but it must be great love this city very much, here for over a year now after traveling for four so maybe tis time to leava again. Hope you can visit again

In a while. Not really affordable I would say haha

These are awesome photos! I have always wanted to go to the Netherlands, but only have been to Italy or Switzerland! I’m a crypto enthusiest and trying to bring the steem community together with multiple initiatives. Check out my @steemmonsters and @steembasicincome giveaway with a Byteball signup. When you get your address leave it in the discord so the BOTS don't steal it lol!

https://steemit.com/steemmonsters/@heyimsnuffles/free-gold-monster-cards-giveaway-with-byteball-signup-final-one-lol

Upvoted!

UPDATE: I just saw you weren't in the Netherlands right now lol

I did the byteball since the first few days it's announced. No I'm not I. The Netherlands atm. Was there last Autumn :-) Nice marketing for the byteball you got there though! Good luck and hope everything goes well 😉❤️

Congratulations! this post got an upvote by @steemrepo and was manually picked by the curator @for91days to be added on STEEM REPOSITORY, simply comment "YES" and we upload it on STEEM REPO Website.
Want to know more about the Steem Repo project? Contact us on Discord

Wait, did you leave Cali already?

Haaaa that's my TravelTunedTuesday by nomadicsoul ! :D ❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98