Monsoon Ride to Charmadi Ghats! (Western Ghats) | WandererOnWheels Adventures Episode 8

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

My friend Pratik had come down riding from Mumbai after staying there for years. 

It had been two months in Mangalore and he had been craving for a ride.

He didn't know many people in here so he had been requesting me to go on a ride since a long time.

I was never able to ride with him because of my busy schedule in the past month which also explains my absence or irregularity on Steemit.

So, one fine Sunday I made up my mind that in spite of my schedule, I'll ride.

So we started off at 6:00 am in the morning from Mangalore.

We decided to head towards the Western Ghats.

This is the view of roads in Charmadi! Found this picture perfect spot.

 

Once we left from Mangalore, we stopped near this riverside at Karinjeshwar.


That's Pratik on his Bajaj Pulsar AS 200.


From another angle.


A couple of pictures and videos later, we left from there and moved ahead.

We found a beautiful bridge on the way and stopped to click some more pictures.


Another view.


A little ahead we found a mud road which took us closer to the water body!

How does Freedom look in her new avatar?

Modded her with new graphics and some add-ons for a big ride that's coming up!


We took a small break here and then decided to move ahead non-stop.

Once we reached the foot of the hills, we stopped to take some pictures of the magnificent view of the mountain that we were about to climb.


We're going there! :D


Once the climb starts, this is the first small waterfall you'll find.

We stopped here for a pee break. :P


The water is very pure and tastier than bottled drinking water xD

This is the view right above this waterfall!


Damn beautiful, right?

When we moved further, I found this picture perfect spot. 

I took a U-turn to click a picture here.


With the right angles and correct props in the background, you can get an amazing picture!

This picture hit 1270+ likes on my Instagram and got reposted by 3 big pages!




It's crazy how such a tree with huge roots got uprooted!


When we move ahead, there's a viewpoint with around 3 waterfalls on the road and a beautiful view. 

Best for panoramas!

Yeah! That's fog! :P

You can see the view of the other side during summers.


 



And that's us!


Another selfie!


Tourist bus to spoil the view! 


Miniature waterfalls along the way! :P


You should definitely go here once if you're in South India!

We had our breakfast in Kottigehara which is pretty famous for Neer Dosa. 

I was so busy hogging that I forgot to click pictures there! :P

We had tea there and left back. It was very tasty!

On the way back, I found this interesting sign board!


This was the last stop.

We had some other commitments post the lunch and were getting late. 

So we rode non-stop back to Mangalore. 

I have been through this route so many times that I just had to sit on the pillion seat and chill on the way back.

The bike knows its way back home! :p


Here's the Google maps location of this place.

Hope you enjoyed reading this travelogue!

If you liked it, please upvote, comment and resteem to help me reach out to more people and show the beauty of India!

You can follow me @wandereronwheels for more travelogues!

Here are some older posts that you may be interested in:

  1.  Surfing Beach in South India - Sasihithlu Beach
  2.  Photographs from Historic Monuments in Delhi | WandererOnWheels Photography #3
  3.  Weekend getaway to FARANGIPET WATERSIDE! | WandererOnWheels Adventures Episode 3
Sort:  

In your country, the numbers are mounted on the front of the motorcycle? Why?

Yup! It's mandatory to fix them. RTO rules!

Great post! Beautiful landscape :)

Looks like you had a bit of a wet ride. How does the KTM hold up in the wet?

Loving the separate horn by the way. My daughter has one of those for her bicycle and it is deafening.

The KTM 200's sold in India doesn't come with Metzeler. It kinda goes sideways on the corners if you tilt too much.
But an experienced rider can use it for his benefit ;)
I would like to thank you for your continuous support from the beginning. I appreciate it.
And the horn.. it's too damn loud :P

upvoted and follow if you like check my travel as well https://steemit.com/travel/@bllackwidow/vienna-a-place-to-live

Thanks brother. Your latest post is interesting :)

Nice post mate! Really looking forward to the meet-up this weekend!

Thanks mate! See you in Bangalore. Did you get the confirmation mail?

Wonderful scennary, you really joyful your trip

Yeah! It's a beautiful place! :)

I can't wait to see the next episode!

I'm glad you liked the series @amedeo! It'll get more interesting soon ;)

I'm sure about this.

Those are awesome!!! Well done :)

Excellent scenery. Wao wao wao

Thanks buddy! Glad you liked it. ;)

I rode through northern India a few months ago and thoroughly enjoyed it. It is still a land to discover on a motorcycle with huge variety of landscapes and sights. I hope to return there one day to explore again. Upvoted and following

It indeed is. Let me know when you return.
You've got some great posts. Followed you as well! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00