Grave at Green Leaf Mine, Deming, New Mexico, USA

in #travel6 years ago

grave-green-leaf-mine-deming-new-mexico.jpg

The Green Leaf Mine dates from the 1920s thru 1950s, but I don't think this grave's that old. Why? There's a plastic flower among the rocks, and the cross is held by screws with a modern blue coating. But maybe that's repairs.

Besides, this is atop the old mine's tailings. Who would be buried there? And it's small, too. If it ain't bullshit, I suspect someone buried a dog there.

Still, it's got that Old West type feel.

Them distant mountains is the Florida Mountains south of Deming, New Mexico, USA.

Follow @vanholio | Visit – Vanholio.com

Sort:  

Very cool. Great find. Do you ever see snakes or scorpions on your walks? How does Ms Barkley go on these walks too?

No snakes or other bitey things seen yet. Ms. Barkley does good. I got a hunter orange reflective vest on her so me and any cars can see her.

Excellent thinking! I need to make one for Calvin and Meegan. I'm dying to go mushroom hunting but I am not super popular here and I would not be missed if I "accidentally" got shot by a turkey hunter.

That's disturbing.

This entire area is disturbing.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=vanholio
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=grave-at-green-leaf-mine-deming-new-mexico-usa


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62432.37
ETH 3003.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78