A review loaded with tons of feelings: Mukumbarí cable car system.

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

We always go back to the places where we've loved life.

That phrase defines the melancholy of looking behind. I'm a sentimental, forgive me. I tend to look over old photos a lot, isn't a thing about being unable to move foward, it's more about remembering all those places and moments where I've been happy. I don't know how many times I've catched myself looking photos of the Mukumbarí cable car system, that place is simply magical. This cable car system is the highest (its maximum height is 4,765 meters) and the longest in the world (with an approximate distance of 12.5 km), it is located in the state of Merida, in my country Venezuela, my favorite place in the world.

FILE0204.jpg

The first time I went up to Pico Espejo was with the old cable car system, I was around 5 years old and I went up with my dad. It was the first time I saw snow and experienced something like that. My dad says that I ran out as "crazy goat" in the middle of the snow and he was surprised that I did not lack oxygen. Many years later, after they finished the remodeling and reconstruction of the station and the whole structure, I went back. It became my favorite place to get away from the city, getting to higher point of a country, just breathing (hardly) fresh air, was always my plan to clear the head.

Fog makes it more interesting
As we go up, the cable cars look more tiny
IMG_20161102_104403.jpgIMG_20170727_104105.jpg

FILE0190.jpg

The capacity of the wagons is 60 people, it depends of the day and your luck to define how many people would go with you.
A little piece of advice: wear long socks and never let your ankles without any protection, it's not about let them freeze, the air is so dry that your skin would dry!

Mukumbarí means in indigenous voice "place where the sun sleeps". This denomination was given by the first inhabitants to what is now known as the imposing Sierra Nevada. This infrastructure work has five stations: Barinitas (1,577 masl), La Montaña (2,436 masl), La Aguada (3,452 masl), Loma Redonda (4,045 masl) and last, but not least, Pico Espejo (4,765 masl), all four connected by four stretches, making it the highest and first longest in the world by only 500 meters, but it's in the first place for being the only one that combines so much height with so many kilometers in length. This work was traditionally one of a kind and and has more than 50 years of history. Located in the city of Mérida, it goes to the Pico Espejo peak within the beautiful Sierra Nevada National Park in the Venezuelan Andes. It was closed after an inspection in 2008 for its modernization and reconstruction and was reopened on April 29, 2016, in pre-commercial stage where a few selected people was able to visit it, it was finally open to the public on October 7, 2016.

Every station has different enviroments, that goes from a fancy restaurant with the best view to the city, to rocky and arid mountains. My favorite has always been the 4th one: Loma Redonda, with those landscapes and lakes full of life! (I'm lying I can't decide if I love the morethe highest point at Pico Espejo, so let's call it a tie). Can't lie, you almost get to believe that you are in a different country, after all.. Everyone almost know Venezuela for its beaches (also for having the biggest oil reserves in the world and for having the worst humanitarian/economical crisis in the last 20 years.. Well, Venezuelans hope the world knows what's actually going). I won't get into politics, because the resentment would take me over, so let's just appreciate these landscapes.

Who can resist the beauty of nature?
Even in a cloudy day, the charm remains
IMG_20180204_111614.jpgIMG-20171210-WA0063.jpg

IMG_20180204_111450.jpg

These photos were taken in the 4th station, Loma Redonda.

In December 2008, the Mérida Cable Car was inspected by the Austrian company Doppelmayr, an inspection that revealed an advanced wear on the cables of the system and recommended to the Government of Venezuela the closure of the Cable Car definitively. The cable car was closed at the beginning of that month for reasons of public safety and the authorities asked the inspection company for a budget to completely renew the system and estimated time of execution of the work. In this inspection research it was determined that the carrier cables of the wagons were about to turn 50 years old, which is to say their useful life. In the same way it was discovered that one of the towers of the system had a fissure.

As of 2010, the Venezuelan government hired the services of the Doppelmayr company to fully modernize the Mérida cableway system, in order to solve the problems presented in the guayas and in some of the towers of the system. This modernization process is carried out with an investment of more than 106 million euros and includes the installation of new guayas, wagons and security devices. It was decided then to build a totally new system, the date of the reopening was postponed successively, until finally .. They finished it.

IMG_20170315_135719_994.jpg

Depending on the weather,
you'll get snow or not.
IMG_20171209_125151.jpgIMG_20171209_124626.jpg

IMG_20171209_124157.jpg

These photos were taken in the 5th station, Pico Espejo.

You're probably wondering about the other stations and why I don't show photos of them.. Well they're not that meaningful to me. The first one has a food fair where you can find some of the local foods and a very delicious smoothies stand. The second station is just for transition from one wagon to another one, you even can't get out to explore. The third one has a real fancy restaurant, with an incredible view to the whole city. I love food, but food there is quite expensive, so I never tried it before leaving Venezuela.

Every time I climbed into a car and the ascent began, the importance of enjoying the present and living in the now was always in my mind. It is not necessary to think about tomorrow, but never forgetting today. "To the bad weather, good face?", More than a question could say that it is an affirmation. Trying to enjoy the most every moment, situation, letting go of negativity will definitely influence our way of seeing the world, even if we believe in the law of attraction, we will attract good things. A little contradictory to speak of the present when I feel nostalgic for the past.

The current nostalgia takes me back to this place, through my old photos. I can't lie, I miss it. I miss the nature, living in such a big city full of buildings sometimes makes me feel breathless. This whole migrating experience started 6 months ago and yes, I still miss my old life. Every decission I made was in order to get a better life, I embrace it. Sometimes I just go back to those places where I've loved life the most, to remember where I come from in order to find my way to where I'm going.

Photos were made using my Nikkon D40 with a 18-55mm lens and with my former cellphone a Huawei Y560.

Sort:  

There is an ancient curse: "may you live in interesting times" but having lived through them myself, all I can say is that things will change. Eventually. In the meantime, we all just do the best we can. I hope change comes soon and you can return to this place

Lets believe it will and we all can go back!
That curse.. Sounds pretty accurate!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by vanessapineda7 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Wow! Such beautiful photos! It's cool that you tell the story behind it, it's a miracle that they realized it had problems before an accident occurred.

It must be so insane to climb it without the cable car, it surely was a proof of strength for the natives back in the day.

Thanks for sharing!

People do hiking in those mountains, they even get to what's left of the glacials, it's like a 3 days walk, imagine that.

Such great shots of and from the Cable Car, I have a fear on them and that one being so long and going so high there is no chance i would get on it

Nothing to fear!!

I know but I was once about to board one, and someone cut in front of our group, we got annoyed and walked away, and then it crashed, so thats why I have a fear

Omg i did not see that coming! Thanks god you walked away!

It was a group of us, we were so annoyed we went and had a couple of beers

Much better plan than dying!

Yes indeed :)

Heey nice review! Very good one! I've been in the mukumbarí cable car system twice in my life, and yeah it's a very magical and special place indeed, and I would also say that Merida is the most awesome and beautiful city here in Venezuela, I feel ya and understand your nostalgia, it's happening also to me with this place by looking to this post and also with my hometown, though I haven't left the country yet, but you know one misses those past moments in these places when everything was different than it is now. But yeah we gotta keep going, it's cool to feel nostalgia and sadness sometimes, we just cannot forget to have the "good face" hahah Amazing photos! Loved your post! Greetings! :)

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @rimicane and earned you a reward, in form of a 100% upvote and a resteem. Your work really stands out! Your article now has a chance to get featured under the appropriate daily topic on our TravelFeed blog.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord

What a wonderful mountain with cherished moments with your Dad, I agree with you when you return later much has changed.

Everywhere you look today there are many more people, making money is part of our world, now people pay for everything. Places we went as children completely free now have fees attached, it is sad and I hear exactly what you are saying @vanessapineda7 hold onto the memories, go to new places rather than lose cherished memories of your childhood.

Your photography and detail about the region are very well done.

Thank you for stopping by!

Since it openned you must pay to get in the cable car, I didn't get what you wanted to say exactly.

When you go back to places with strong good memories, most times you will leave not feeling the way you did before.

Find new places and make new memories, rather than losing the good memories you had from childhood.

That's a great advice, making new memories and treasure the old ones. Thank you

Love this post!!!
Nice photos as well 💙
Last time I visited Merida was in 2000 or something like that...I still was a kid...If I ever return to Venezuela I will sure go there and many more places as well 😊

Spectacular post, I'll be following you, Vanessa!
Please keep up with the good work! :-)

As a guy who lives on sea level, I think I'd just go completely out of air. Physically and literally - that place is breathtaking in both ways.

By the way I'm passing by to inform that you have been featured on the Travel Feed America round-up.

Woah that's great!! Thank you!

It's even difficult for me to breath there, isn't impossible though..

And I imagine that, since the cable car takes people up there relatively fast, it barely gives time for us to get used to the altitude =o

You are more than welcome, it is a lovely post

That's how it works, but you don't get to feel it until the 4th station!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66004.40
ETH 3243.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.19