Let's Climb the Pyramid of the Sun in Teotihuacan

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

The Pyramid of the Sun is a must see.

20180122_114022.jpg

When @halcyondaze and I ventured out of Mexico City into Teotihuacan, we had no idea what to expect. After getting out of our uber, we were greeted by a smooth-talking General Tour Guide named Rodolfo.

If you know me, I put up a thick wall as soon as I'm being pitched at...

I honestly would have been fine just wondering the area, but I could see Kevin was getting amped for this guy. He made a good point, why visit a historical place and not have someone there who can make it come alive with stories?

Not one to pass up an attempt to practice my negotiation skills, I pushed to get a discount and once Rodolfo agreed...I was sold.

And it was the best decision of the trip!

Enough of me blabbering, check out this little video I put together to see the epicness we experienced.

As you approach the Pyramid of the Sun, it's insane the scale of the structure. Just think of how many people were working on this for hundreds of years with basic tools...

A true feat of engineering!

Mexico City sits around 7500 feet above sea level...

Let's just say these stairs took your breath away in more ways than one. Rodolfo also says that to climb the steep steps, you should walk both up and down the pyramid in a zig-zag, switching directions ever seven steps. Also note, that when coming down you should be walking backward...

It's actually easier!

20180122_123340.jpg

This is the view from the Pyramid of the Moon overlooking the Avenue of the Dead.

20180122_123457-EFFECTS.jpg

Here's @halcyondaze channeling his inner High Priestage.

20180122_123748(0).jpg

This is one of the last remaining original paintings depicting a puma with fire raining down from the heavens and water beneath it. According to Rodolfo, we are now in the fifth stage of human existence...let's just say the first four didn't end so well for us.

20180122_122605.jpg

Rodolfo took us into a temple and I was able to snap this original painting as well.

20180122_130057.jpg

After a long day of walking and after eating some ant eggs in a cave (I'll save that story for another time), we finally made it back to the neighborhood we were staying at. While crossing the street I was able to capture this final picture to close out the day.

20180122_173348.jpg


Thanks for following along!

If we haven’t met yet, please leave me a comment so we can!

By the way, I’m Jon. Most of my time is spent on my AI company and meeting new people on Steemit. I have lots of hobbies like traveling, Brazilian Jiu Jitsu, gardening, cooking, reading and crypto - which I plan to share here. If any of these topics interest you, please let me know so we can chat more!

Cheers,

JONCIRCLE.png

Jon
Follow me: @ucsdsu

P.S. Turns out the Pyramid of the Sun is actually the Pyramid of Water...but I guess names are hard to change after the fact.

Sort:  

your story very interesting about travel. thanks for sharing,
btw, i've followed you :)

Thanks for following along. Got a bunch more to share, stay tuned!

wow thank you sir :)

maybe we can together motivate and help each other in steemit, vote,comment or resteem at post

Keep sharing!

Makes me want to go baaack ahh. Can't wait to see what's next, handsome ;p

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28