2015 Maine Sketching Excursion for Mural on Hospital Door

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

IMG_0740.JPG

I was going through old photos on "Google photos" and found mucho inspiration for new posts to make on steemit. If you go under albums they organize photos into different topics, and that helped me to remember some old adventures I had gone on years ago. I enjoy going down memory lane, so I think I will make a series of posts on the images I recall.

Four years ago I was asked by some coworkers to paint a mural on the back door of the ward I worked at. They wanted something Maine oriented, being in Maine Medical Center, so I decided to focus on the rocky coast. I could have just stayed home and drew from old photos or others photos, but I wanted to take my own, as well as being inspired by drawing outside.

The first day I walked from Bug Light down the greenway to Spring Point lighthouse and Willard beach. It was a beautiful walk; I wish I had more pictures. On the way I stopped at this interesting Marina.

IMG_0520.JPG

For the first piece I combined a couple of different images. I wanted the painting to be pleasing to the eye, but to warn people to go no further.

IMG_0535.JPG

IMG_0508.JPG

IMG_0788.JPG

After sketching for about an hour at the Spring Point lighthouse, I took a long walk to Willard Beach. It was beautiful.

IMG_0466.JPG

IMG_0498.JPG

IMG_0487.JPG

IMG_0446.JPG

IMG_0440.JPG

IMG_0431.JPG

IMG_0422.JPG

An image struck me about halfway down the beach, so I sat and painted; taking a quick photo so I could finish it up later.

IMG_0388.JPG

I changed the wording on the graffitti to be a bit more appropriate for the hospital.

IMG_0789.JPG

My mother went with me on my next sketching adventure; a visit to Portland Head Light and the cliffs nearby.
Cape Elizabeth has some of the most beautiful parks in Maine; with Fort Williams Park being one of them.

IMG_0740.JPG

IMG_0759.JPG

IMG_0768.JPG

IMG_0729.JPG

IMG_0727.JPG

IMG_0735.JPG

It was there that I started the design that my coworkers would pick for the door.

IMG_0748.JPG

IMG_07902.jpg

We went to our favorite bakery afterwards; The Cookie Jar. Yum; I want cookies now.

Here is how the mural looks from the both sides of the glass.

IMG_0965 (1).JPG

IMG_0968 (1).JPG

I had never painted on glass before, and I was in an awkward position. The final outcome is not horrible, but I do not find it represents my skill and abilities at the time well. I wonder if it is still up, perhaps they will let me try again in the future.

Sort:  

Dear friend! Next time also use #artzone and follow @artzone to get an upvote on your quality posts!

Thank you, but already used the tag once today don't want to oversell myself.

Beautyful photography and aslo natural amazing,,,,I was instantly excited and inspired for your post,,I really love Sketching excursion for Mural on Hospital Door,,,Thanks for share with us

Thank you, I had fun.

Dear friend! Next time also use #artzone and follow @artzone to get an upvote on your quality posts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66274.97
ETH 3175.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06