What I did on my summer holidays

in #travel5 years ago

Well ok, it wasn’t summer in New Zealand, but it was summer in Greece, and that’s where I went. So I guess that counts.

After seven years of marriage I had finally saved up enough (or what I hoped would be enough) to finally have a honeymoon. My wife got an early start – traveling to Greece three months ahead of me so she could catch up with family and look after her mum for a bit.

Now it was my turn to jump on a plane and get some sun. For the next six weeks I’d be eating Greek food, getting a tan and generally relaxing. Or at least that was the plan.

I did eat Greek food. I did get a tan. But not a lot of relaxing happened. It was pretty full-on from the moment I landed in Crete.

But I’m getting ahead of myself. Over the next few weeks I’ll be uploading some photos and videos of the trip and writing about some of the adventures I had.

Including:

  • A Cretan wedding
  • My 54th birthday
  • Samaria Gorge – the longest gorge in Europe
  • Snorkelling with Captain Nick
  • Driving for the first time on the wrong side of the road
  • Visiting the floating monasteries
  • Eating weird stuff like snails and frog’s legs
  • Spending four days with monks on Mt. Athos
  • Crashing and burning in northern Greece as I came down with pneumonia
  • Finding the source of the pompoms on the shoes of the Greek guards in Athens
  • Visiting the Acropolis where the Parthenon is
  • Thermopolis – where 300 Spartans (and several thousand other Greeks) faced the Persian army
  • And so much more!
    So keep an eye out for some interesting, entertaining, and possibly hilarious posts all about Greece (and all the things that can go wrong) and a honeymoon that was seven years overdue.
Sort:  

WOW a very impressive Summer Holiday, looking forward to the photo's :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66095.77
ETH 3184.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12