Travelman's Travels in Thailand Chapter 5: Khao Sok National Park and My Harum from Holland! (Part 1)

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

The last we left Travelman he was proving himself as the coolest guy in the world while learning to dive on Ko Tao. Next stop was Khao Sok National Park.

IMG_0173.JPG

IMG_5172.JPG

I took an overnight ferry from Ko Tao to Suratt Thani, then an early morning bus to Khao Sok National Park.

Here's me in my sleeper ferry bed. A guy who I think was from China, and very excited, took this pic of me after he asked me to take one of him. The single beds were coffin-like narrow. The Chinese guy was supposed to be right next to me but the ferry was 60% empty, so he jumped in the double bed in the adjacent row. I put my bags in the bed next to me and fell asleep in minutes..

IMG_5120.JPG

Here's a ferry employee standing on the ferry draw bridge as it lowered at the dock...

IMG_5127.JPG

Upon exiting the ferry, local travel agents were waiting to usher us into a shuttle truck. At first I thought the guy was a taxi driver trying to get me to pay for a ride I didn't need to pay for, but he quickly, and with some frustration at the oblivious tourist, explained that it was a shuttle to the bus. Here's me with an American (who had a "I'm too cool for this" attitude) and two European girls (one not in the photo) in the back of the truck on the way to the travel agency in town where we'd board the larger bus for the 90 minute ride to Khao Sok....

IMG_5134.JPG

Before I got on the bus, the wife of the travel agent playfully blew me a kiss as I presented her my ticket. Here they are...

IMG_5137.JPG

The bus drivers have a co-pilot who ensures people get off at the right stops and retrieves their bags from the luggage compartment...

IMG_5164.JPG

IMG_5165.JPG

They dropped me at the turn off to the road to Khao Sok. The park entrance was 1.6 km away. There was a market at the intersection... I almost bought a pig's head, but opted for chicken and rice curry for 60 baht instead...

IMG_5171.JPG

IMG_5166.JPG

IMG_5168.JPG

The road to Khao Sok, I didn't know what lie ahead of me...

IMG_5170.JPG

After about 1.2 Km I came across a town. A short stretch of restaurants, bungalows, mini-marts, adventure trip agencies, and two hostels.

IMG_5174.JPG

About 1000 feet before the park I came across a side street and decided to check out the accommadations on this road. It was just after 0900 and I was looking forward to settling in somewhere soon...

IMG_5210.JPG

I came upon Nung House near the end of the road...

IMG_5187.JPG

IMG_5188.JPG

It had private little huts on the grounds and a main reception/restaurant area. I was sure it would be out of my price range. As I walked into the open air restaurant, I was greeted by this guy. Price of entry, love and affection, preferably a butt scratch...

IMG_5213.JPG

I asked the Thai woman how much for a room, she said 300. She took me out to show me the bungalow. It was great! For less than I paid for the crappy hostel on Ko Tao, I had my own cabin, with a porch, a bathroom and shower, and my first mosquito net. I said, "I'll take it!"

IMG_5192.JPG

IMG_5175.JPG

IMG_5178.JPG

IMG_5176.JPG

IMG_5177.JPG

Here's the bed with the net down for the night...

I got settled in and walked back to the restaurant to select a tour for the next day. There was complimentary instant coffee and the owner's mother had just made a local dessert that they offered me. I forget what it was called, but it was served with fresh ground coconut and tasted like a thick, pastey jello with less sweetness. When I asked what made it green, the grandmother went and got the green leaf that was part of the recipe and gave it the green color...

IMG_5214.JPG

I selected the two day, one night excursion on Khao Sok Lake. It included a two jungle hike to two caves and a tail boat ride out to floating, raft bungalows where I would stay the night with the group I would join. When I went back to my cabin, this little guy was sleeping on my welcome matt. He was there in the morning as well when I took the picture. He politely got up and moved under the chair on my porch after I stepped over him twice...

IMG_5206.JPG

Here's the view from my porch...

IMG_5202.JPG

IMG_5203.JPG

Coming up in part two, Travelman takes a boat ride not quite into Joseph Conrad's Heart of Darkness, but maybe just a Capillary of Darkness...

Sort:  

Great post. Unless you have unlimited funds, here's a little tip for long term travel. Slow it down a bit, try "living" in the country vs spending money on endless tourist activities. Don't get me wrong that's great fun and enjoy! But for long term travel you can go through serious money with endless tourism. But you're new to it all so enjoy! Sorry if I come off mentorish. My bad. To me it's fascinating seeing you travel as as newbie fellow American. My first time in Thailand I was 20, now I'm 35! yikes! Seriously enjoy! I'm just glad you took my advice and came to Thailand over Vietnam for your first go around. Now you have something to compare it to, when you do go to Vietnam.

Yeah, I've given myself license to go a bit tourist crazy in the first two weeks. I'm not liking how I'm burning through money in "cheap" thailand, so it's going to change in the next couple days. Just letting myself go crazy with fun the first few days. At the same time, I have the funds, so I'm not going deprive myself of something I may not get the chance to do again. I'm pretty frugal, and now and then Iet myself splurge when I feel it's appropriate. The tourist activities are helping me meet fellow traveler's as well which I need in my initial days. Appreciate you looking out.

Makes total sense. Enjoy my friend. :)

daisyk
cute cabin and it even comes with a dog. Great Perk!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65897.19
ETH 2706.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88