Travelman in Malaysia: The hostel on Langkawi let me take their Ferrari out for a spin again today.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Yes, that's right, the hostel lent me their Ferrari. It's not many hostels that have a Ferrari, and even less that will offer you the use of it any time you want.

That's not their Ferrari. For those of you who are unaware, Ferrari also makes bicycles. This may have been quite the machine when it was new, but now it's simply a great perk to have a free bike on the island.

A used bicycle salesman would call it "a little bit weathered, but it's seasoned, and the grandmother that owned it only rode it twice." I left it in the middle gear all day because I was afraid that any attempt at shifting would cause unwanted trouble and a possible long walk back to the hostel.

IMG_0714.JPG

It has a fancy flex handlebar system that made me feel like I was on one of those overly engineered exercise bikes that make you work your upper body as well as your legs. It was so much fun riding it for a second day.

TRAVELMAN'S TRAVEL TIP #17: When riding a free bicycle provided by a hostel on a tropical island in tropical heat, expect to feel like you are pedaling uphill even while coasting downhill. Cuz it's HOT in Malaysia! ...A bit moist. I prayed to get rained on.

On my ride I saw...

A helicopter taking off...

IMG_0682.JPG

IMG_0685.JPG

Food trucks setting up for a night market on the stretch of highway between the airport runway and a large bay...

IMG_0690.JPG

IMG_0691.JPG

My Ferrari parallel parked while taking the last two shots (airport runway in background)...

IMG_0692.JPG

And just so you don't think I'm lying about the bay on the other side...

IMG_0689.JPG

A pic I took from the side of a bridge...

IMG_0698.JPG

The first bicycle shop I've seen in Southeast Asia. It was in the town I rode to...

IMG_0705.JPG

In the one minute video below, I talk about how I thought these guys would either charge me or nuzzle me, kind of ignorant of the behavior patterns of these guys and gals...

IMG_0711.JPG

Just over one minute. Footage of the water buffalo and what I think was a police academy or military school (Or evil Bond Villian training outpost)...

...And I'm aware that saying "evil" Bond villian is redundant. Unless there are benevolent Bond villains of which I am unaware.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65792.18
ETH 2695.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.90