Travelman in Malaysia: I had the best three meals of my trip at the Red Tomato on Langkawi

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

I decided to stop into this place called the Red Tomato for dinner in the small beach town of Pantai Cenang. It was so good that I went there for breakfast and dinner the next day. It was true Malaysian fare- Italian food! I usually don't like to go to Western food restaurants while in S.E. Asia but I was feeling homesick for some familiar food, and figured it may give my intestines a rest from the daily shock I've been putting them through (Hey intestines, I'm building character in you, so keep up the good work).

The prices were reasonable, the staff was great, the music was groovy, and the food was delicious (even better than the Thai pancake!). I'm not even a foodie and I want to post about this place.

On the first night, I had the garlic bread and the Mediterranean pasta entree. It was in a pesto sauce, I savored every bite. They give you popcorn when you sit down at your table...

IMG_0665.JPG

The next morning I had the Farmer's meal. It was an egg scramble with potatoes, mushrooms, peppers, cheese, and your choice of meat or fresh made bread. I chose the bread (the first great bread I've had on the trip. White bread is way too popular in this part of the world.)...

IMG_0677.JPG

Here's a pic of part of the menu, focusing on the Mediterranean. The prices are in ringgit so it's about 28 cents on the dollar...

IMG_0672.JPG

Toy trolley cars on the wall behind me...

IMG_0671.JPG

Tell me, why does the caged baseball mitt catch? ....

IMG_0668.JPG

The staff...

IMG_0675.JPG

More of the restaurant...

IMG_0669.JPG

IMG_0666.JPG

IMG_0676.PNG

Sort:  

Glad you like it in Malaysia :D
Pulau Langkawi is really suitable for short getaway and short trips :)

Yes, it was very suitable for an on the way to Kuala Lumpur stop!. Thanks for stopping by. I saw your post on your page about optometry visit. I had my eyes laser corrected a couple months ago. All those instruments are fantastically crazy.

The food looks fantastic! And the restaurant appears very cozy and comfortable. So happy you enjoyed your meals.

Congratulations @travelman! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65897.19
ETH 2706.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88