Glorious and weird authentic food I found in China

in #travel8 years ago

Here are some pictures I took of food that I enjoyed during my several trips to China. As you can see, a lot of the dishes contain copious amounts of chilies and Sichuan peppers, as I usually prefer to eat spicy. 

Spicy frog (口水蛙, literally mouth-watering frog). The first time I had this I thought I had to drink the broth as well. I would not recommend this, as it is extremely hot (spicy).

Fuqi Feipian  ( 夫妻肺片, literally Married Couple Lung Slices ).  This dish does not actually contain Lung at all but Cow Scalp, Heart, Tongue and Belly pieces in a spicy sauce. It is eaten cold and is delicious.

Ganbian Sijidou (干煸四季豆, literally stir-fried four season beans) are fried beans with chilies, meat and  pickled vegetables.

Chongqing Spicy chicken (重庆辣子鸡, literally Chongqing chili chicken). Deep fried chicken slices (usually containing a lot of bone on them) with lots of chili and Sichuan peppers.

Cold Mung Bean Noodles (凉粉, literally cold noodle/powder) are jelly like stripes made of mung bean powder, served in a spicy sauce.

Lobster (龙虾)

Pig's feet (豬腳)

Sichuan boiled fish (水煮魚, literally water boiled fish) is carp boiled in a oily and spicy broth. The dark brown objects swimming at the surface are Sichuan peppercorns and chilies that turned brown from frying before adding them to the broth. They are usually removed before serving.

Spicy snails (蝸牛 for snails, forgot the dish's name)

Sweet and sour pork chops (糖醋小排, literally sugar vinegar small spareribs)

Spicy lamb slices (probably 麻辣羊肉)

Duck tongues (雅舍)

Worm stew (no idea, who can help ?). If you look closely you can see the jagged edges of the worms. It tasted actually not as bad as it looks like.

Sort:  

I reposted this from my (unread) blog:
http://www.edive.ch/blog/page/Exotic-Food.aspx

Thanks for sharing awesome Chinese dishes .
Look delicious and nice photos.
I'm interesting in foods & photography,
and your blog attracts me.
I'm a newbie in steemit, from Myanmar Country.
Hope I can post Myanmar foods soon.
Nice to read your blog.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66384.36
ETH 3272.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27