Travelling with Loka - Agnes water, 17-70 and the Scooteroo tour.

in #travel6 years ago

Continuing my adventure, the next place I headed for was a small town called Agnes Water. I met some great people there and it's a memory I'll hold onto dearly.



image

It was a long train ride about 5 hours or so from Noosa but I had a story to tell whilst I was on the train about me, a beer pong tournament, 2 Canadians and a gang member.... yeh it was an odd evening to say the least. But I least I lived to tell the tale. Maybe I'll wright about it in another post but for now let's focus on Agnes Water

Agnes Water

The main reason I visited this place was for the Scooteroo tour. However this place is such a good experience in a way that I can't compare to any other.

In this post you're not going to see many fancy pictures but the vibe of this small town really shows how much the social part of society has fallen in big city's. I'll try to describe it as best I can. There is a story in how I actually got to the hostel but I'll wright about that another time. Its simply too long.

The hostel
The hostel I stayed at was the Southern Cross. It had such a chilled atmosphere and the biggest driveway/garden I've ever seen for a hostel entrance. On the way in you pass a pool which I didn't expect and it had table tennis which I played everyday. Needless to say I got very good 😁.
image
The hostel had such a relaxed atmosphere, I soon made freinds there without any effort and the staff were super helpfull and freindly. By the time I had to go they wanted me to stay and even work there!

The downside was the shops are about a 20 minute walk but luckily there was a shuttle bus that left every 3 hours or so.

Surfing
Agnes water is a great place to learn to surf if you've never done it before. It also happens to be extremely cheap compared to everywhere else. I did some lessons in Sydney which were about 60-70 dollars for about 2-3 hours in a big group. In Agnes it was about $20 but for a small private group for 3 hours (incliding transport there and back). You'd be an idiot to miss that opertunity!
image
The waves wern't the best but unless you've surfed a few times like me, there's no way you could tell.

The Scooteroo tour

What is the scooteroo tour?

Well you ride on scooters and while riding, you can see Kangeroos. Scooters and Roo's, "Scooteroo" simple right?

Agnes Water and the surrounding area are packed full of Kangeroos. You WILL see a Kangeroo there. I saw about 3 just doing a grocery shop!

But that's not all, the scooters have a body that looks like mini Harleys which have flame paintjobs.


*The bikes* ![image]() ![image]()
They also give you a stereotypical biker gang jacket which everyone wears. So what you end up with is riding in a biker gang...sort of. You look like an idiot but feel like a badass... ![image]() *And that's all that matters.*😎

Bike expert/troll - Wait didn't you say scooters? Thats a (names model)

Ok so that is certainly not a scooter and your not allowed to ride it. In fact, it doesn't even work. However the fact that you get to have a picture like this is something you won't get anywhere else. To me, that's value.
image


So how close do the Kangeroos get?
Well when I rode, I had one hopping along about 10 metres away but one backpacker (not in our group) had one so close it accidently kicked her off her bike.

Close enough for you?

Our group preparing to hit the road
image
The ride is good fun, the scooters are only 50cc and you need full throttle to get up the steeper hills but it's hillarious when you see people getting stuck or your literally jockeying the scooter to get up that hill. That's right, your part of a biker gang yet go too slow and you won't make it up the hill 😂.
image
(Dumb and dumber anyone?)


We rode to the town of Seventeen Seventy, named after it's discovery in... 1770. How origional.

There we had some wedges and a drink, nothing major but they're quite famous and were pretty tasty.
It was a nice stop and my last. I knew the next day I had to leave.
image
What a truly unique experience. I'd highly recomend visiting. Trust me whwn I say this, there's far more you'll discover than what I've mentioned here.


As usual I met some amazing people and couldn't wait for my next adventure.
image


The journy continues...
Sort:  

Greetings! I am a minnow exclusive bot that gives a 5X upvote! I recommend this amazing guide on how to be a steemit rockstar! I was made by @EarthNation to make Steemit easier and more rewarding for minnows.

Requested by @tomatom

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by tomatom from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99